Skip to main content

Wildlife Society awards students, faculty at virtual ceremony

Posted on

Texas A&M University-Kingsville Wildlife Logo

Texas A&M University-Kingsville Wildlife Logo

Texas A&M University-Kingsville students and faculty received more than a dozen awards at the Texas Chapter of the Wildlife Society (TCTWS) state meeting. Due to COVID, the annual conference was held virtually in February 2021.


Dr. Scott Henke, Regents Professor and Chair of the Rangeland and Wildlife Science Department in Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture and Natural Resources, reported that students from Texas A&M-Kingsville submitted about half of the total projects in the competition. There were 25 posters and 20 presentations from the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute (CKWRI).


Seth Rankins, a CKWRI student, won the student presentation competition at the SE Deer Study Group meeting. This is the first time a student has ever won that award, said Henke.


The CKWRI Online Publications received an Outstanding Electronic Media award. Publications include South Texas Wildlife Newsletter, Caesar Kleberg Tracks and other newsletters.


Dr. Lenny Brennan, professor and C.C. “Charlie” Winn Endowed Chair for Quail Research, received the Outstanding Book award for Quantitative Analysis in Wildlife Science.


The Outstanding Science Article award was given to Dr. Charles A. DeYoung, Research Scientist and Professor Emeritus; Dr. Tim Fulbright, research scientist; Dr. David Hewitt, Leroy G. Denman, Jr. Endowed Director of Wildlife Research Executive Director; and Dr. David Wester, professor and research scientist, for Linking white-tailed deer density, nutrition, and vegetation in a stochastic environment.


Fulbright also was made an Honorary Life Member of the society.


The Charly McTee Scholarship was awarded to Eve Schrader.


The Clarence Cottom Graduate Presentations Award went to Levi Heffelfinger for first place and Kristyn Steward for third place.

Outstanding Undergraduate Posters was given to Dakota Moberg for first place, Tenley Housler for second place and Lori Massey for third place.


The Outstanding Undergraduate Student award went to John Herschberger.


Photography Contest winners from A&M-Kingsville were Levi Heffelfinger in second place in the Scenery Category and Emily Bishop for second place in the art category.


The Texas Chapter of The Wildlife Society (TCTWS) states their vision is to assure a sustained diversity of wildlife and their habitats in Texas. The TCTWS participates in a global society in which the conservation of wildlife is a common goal.

Category: General Univ , Ag/Env & Wildlife Sci

Photo of Monica Alfaro

Media Contact

News Archives