Skip to main content

Texas A&M System Regents approve Roberson as new Regents Professor

Posted on

College Hall tower

College Hall tower

BRYAN-COLLEGE STATION, Texas (November 12, 2020) — The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents has designated 15 faculty members and seven agency service, extension or research professionals within the A&M System as Regents Professors and Regents Fellows for 2019-2020.


Joining the ranks of Regents Professors at Texas A&M University-Kingsville is Dr. Susan Roberson, English Professor in the Language and Literature Department.


“My first reaction is that I am just giddy!” Roberson said. “It is such an honor to be recognized like this by my peers and by the Texas A&M University System. It has been one of the great periods of my life to have worked for and served Texas A&M University-Kingsville. Javelina Nation is a place where people can be nourished and grow to their potential.


“I follow in the footsteps of two other Regents Professors from the Department of Language and Literature, Dr. Jacki Thomas and Dr. David Sabrio,” she said. “I think that having another Regents Professor in the ranks of my home department and the College of Arts and Sciences will shine a light on the Humanities and Literature and the contributions that we make to learning and to the lives of our students.”


The Board established the Regents Professor Awards program in 1996 and the Regents Fellow Service Awards program in 1998 to recognize employees who have made extraordinary contributions to their university, or agency, as well as to the people of Texas.


“These individuals exemplify the commitment to excellence in research and service that sets A&M System employees apart,” Elaine Mendoza, Chairman of The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents. “I hope their example will inspire others in their own endeavors.”


Roberson earned her bachelor’s degree in English from Baylor University. She received her master’s and doctoral degrees in English from Texas A&M University.


She came to Texas A&M-Kingsville in 2003 as chair of the Language and Literature Department. During that time, she also served as interim chair of the Department of Communications and Theatre Arts.


In 2010, she was promoted to assistant dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. During her time there, she served as interim chair of the Department of Psychology and Sociology, interim director of the Undergraduate Writing Center and interim director of the Women and Gender Studies Program.


She served as the director of the Women and Gender Studies Program for two years. She is now an English Professor.


Roberson has edited six books and written numerous articles and chapters and conference papers. She has chaired many conference sessions including some for the Women and Gender Studies Program. She also has organized conferences and symposia.


She received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award in 2017 and was the university’s nominee for the Minnie Piper Award in 2015. In 2006, she received the Javelina Alumni Association’s Distinguished Researcher Award.


Other recipients of this year’s Regents Professor Award include:

  • Dr. Julia Ballenger, Texas A&M University-Commerce
  • Dr. Frances Bernat, Texas A&M International University
  • Dr. Jane Bolin, Texas A&M University Health Science Center
  • Dr. Fred Bonner II, Prairie View A&M University
  • Dr. Yassin Hassan, Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Alex Hunt, West Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Patrick Louchouarn, Texas A&M University at Galveston
  • Dr. Bhimanagouda Patil, Texas A&M University AgriLife Research
  • Dr. Luz Mary Rincon, Texas A&M University-Texarkana
  • Dr. Susan Roberson, Texas A&M University-Kingsville
  • Dr. Christine Stanley, Texas A&M University
  • Dr. Gregory Stuntz, Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
  • Dr. David Threadgill, Texas A&M University Health Science Center
  • Dr. Edward Westermann, Texas A&M University-San Antonio
  • Dr. Peter Yu, Texas A&M University

This year’s recipients of the Regents Fellow Service Awards are:

  • Dr. Diane Boellstorff, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension
  • Mr. D. Lance Bullard, Jr., Texas A&M Transportation Institute
  • Dr. Susan Chrysler, Texas A&M Transportation Institute
  • Mr. John Crawford, Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station
  • Mr. Alphonse Davis, Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service
  • Mr. Wes Moorehead, Texas A&M Forest Service
  • Dr. Ruben Saldaña, Texas A&M Agrilife Extension

The selection process for the awards begins with a call for nominations from the chancellor. Final nominations are put forth to the chief executive officer of each respective entity. They are then subject to a System-level review consisting of academic vice chancellors and past recipients of the awards. Finally, nominations are forwarded to the chancellor and the board for final approval.

To date, 268 A&M system faculty members have been recognized with the Regents Professor Award and 157 agency professionals have received the Regents Fellow Service Award.

About the Texas A&M University System

The Texas A&M University System is one of the largest systems of higher education in the nation with a budget of $6.3 billion. The System is a statewide network of 11 universities; a comprehensive health science center; eight state agencies, including the Texas Division of Emergency Management; and the RELLIS Campus. The Texas A&M System educates more than 151,000 students and makes more than 22 million additional educational contacts through service and outreach programs each year. System-wide, research and development expenditures exceeded $1 billion in FY 2019 and helped drive the state’s economy.


Category: General Univ , Awards/Honors , Arts/Sciences

Photo of Julie Navejar

Media Contact

News Archives