Skip to main content

Javelina Alumni Association announces Distinguished Teacher, Research awards

Posted on

By Elaine Barnes

Coordinator, Alumni and Donor Communications

Office of Alumni Services and Giving

(Kingsville, TX) – The Javelina Alumni Association (JAA) is pleased to announce the 2019 Distinguished Teacher and Research awards. The JAA annually awards these distinctions in recognition of faculty at Texas A&M University-Kingsville who have brought great honor to the university through their professional accomplishments and commitment to their careers and communities.

headshot of Dr. Christina Reiser Robbins

The Distinguished Teacher Award is presented to a deserving faculty member of the university who has shown excellence and intellectual insight as well as the ability to engage student learning that has life-long impact. This year’s honoree, Dr. Christine Reiser Robbins, is an Associate Professor of Anthropology and Coordinator of Anthropology, Southwest Borderland Studies and Mexican American Studies within the Department of Psychology and Sociology at Texas A&M-Kingsville.

Her research and teaching combines archaeology, cultural anthropology, oral history and public humanities to explore interests in race, heritage, mobility, health and community studies. Reiser Robbins earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Notre Dame, and her master’s and doctorate degree in anthropology from Brown University.

Headshot of Dr. Jingbo Louise Liu

The Distinguished Research Award is presented to a deserving faculty member who has shown superior scholarship through publication, continued creativity, had research impact on their field and has garnered other academic or professional awards. This year’s honoree, Dr. Jingbo Louise Liu, is a professor in the Department of Chemistry at Texas A&M-Kingsville. Her research involves multi-function sensor, fuel cell-solid oxide fuel cell and proton exchange membrane cell, water purification using ceramic and metal membrane, and colloid and surface chemistry.

Liu earned both a bachelor’s and master’s degree in chemistry and chemical engineering from Heilongjiang University. She earned her doctorate degree in materials science and engineering from the University of Science and Technology Beijing.

The 2019 Distinguished Alumni, announced in June, are retired U.S. Air Force Col. Lisa Carrington Firmin (Class of 1979), Jackie C. Collins (Class of 1972) and Richard P. Ritchie (Class of 1977). The Rising Star awards have been named as C. Michelle Unda (Class of 2005) and Dr. Brian McFall (Class of 2005 and 2008).

Each honoree will be recognized by the JAA and Texas A&M-Kingsville Friday, Oct 25, at the Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner. This event, held during Homecoming Week, will take place on campus in the Memorial Student Union Building. Tickets to this event are available at $50 per person and can be purchased until Monday, Oct. 21 by visiting the JAA website at More information on each honorees are also available at the JAA website.


Category: General Univ

Media Contact

News Archives