Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Javelina Scholar Converse With Donors

KINGSVILLE - November 12, 2008

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

First ever Scholarship Donor/Recipient Dinner

KINGSVILLE (November 12, 2008) — One hundred and thirty-five Texas A&M University-Kingsville students attended Conversations with the Future- a university-wide donor scholar dinner held last Thursday, Nov. 6.

The evening was intimate and personal, giving scholars and donors the opportunity not only to converse, but also engage in great discussion about future endeavors and further education.

University President Dr. Steven Tallant gave the introduction that not only appreciated the donors but the scholars for their participation and contribution towards the university.

The emcee, O’Ryan White, is a former scholarship recipient of the Olga Paul, Hugh Porter Mathematics, John Talmer Peacock, Wildhorse Theatre and Teacher Quality Enhancement scholarships. He also is a native of Kingsville and a 2007 graduate of A&M-Kingsville.

Katherine Kreigal, a senior history major, received the Walter Russell History Scholarship and the Kennedy Grant from the Kennedy Memorial Foundation. Vice president of Institutional Advancement Randy Hughes introduced students to the donor of their scholarship. “I was introduced to General Cisneros, former president of university and the CEO of Kennedy Foundation,” Kreigal said.

Marshall Blaine Wilson, a freshman architectural engineering major, was one of four students to receive the Tom & Glenda Best Scholarship, which is a full ride scholarship. “The scholarship was through the church and I have been active in the church for more than 10 years,” Wilson said. “The entire event was well put together, even the informal breakfast. I was able to get last minute information.”

American Electric Power sponsored the event and also donated $10,000 to the university to use towards next years scholarships.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012