Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Watercolor Exhibition Is Next At TAMUK’s Conner Museum

KINGSVILLE - April 08, 2008

Contact: Julie Navejar
kajam03@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

University chosen first of four venues to show exhibit

The John E. Conner Museum at Texas A&M University-Kingsville will display the winners of the 59th annual Texas Watercolor Society National Juried Exhibition.

The Conner Museum is the first of four venues to show the 59th exhibit that goes on display Thursday, April 17, and continues through Saturday, May 17, in the west gallery. The museum is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Saturday.

Paul Jackson of Columbia, Mo., earned $2,000 and the gold medallion for Best of Show for his painting, Scotch on the Rocks. Edie Collins of San Antonio won the Margaret Pace Willson Award for a Texas Artist. She received $1,000 and a silver medallion for her work entitled Through the Window.

Other winners from Texas include Dan Burt, Kerrville, Michael Frary Memorial Award for Transparent Watercolor; Carole Berry, Atlanta, Polly Howerton Transparent Watercolor Award; Carol M. Peterson, Lubbock, Jack Richeson & Co. Award; Lorna Francis, Castroville, Cheap Joe’s Art Stuff Award; Harry Shields, Richardson, Winsor & Newton Award; Sue Nosler Gray, Round Rock, Canson Fine Paper Award; Jim Slaughter, Kerrville, Camellia Artist Materials Award; and Carole Myers, San Antonio, Golden Artist Colors Award.

The Texas Watercolor Society is a non-profit art organization whose mission is to advance the art of painting in watercolor and hold annual exhibitions of watercolor paintings. The group was founded in 1949. Originally, the annual exhibit was selected by nationally recognized jurors and limited to artists living in Texas. However, in 1991, the exhibit has been open to artists nationwide.

Over 200 artists from 33 states entered 450 watercolor paintings with 30 chosen for the traveling show.

For more information call 361-593-2810.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012