Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville Makes Strong Showing at A&M University System Student Research Symposium

KINGSVILLE - November 12, 2007

Contact: Jason Marton
jason.marton@tamuk.edu or 361-593-4143

Sixty students present research posters, win 15 awards;
university wins Traveling Scholarship Trophy

Student researchers from Texas A&M University-Kingsville earned 15 total awards at the Fifth Annual Texas A&M University System Pathways Student Research Symposium, held at Tarleton State University Nov. 2-3.

The university also won the Traveling Scholarship Trophy, presented for the first time this year to recognize the university winning the most individual student awards.

Eleven A&M System universities participated, with 187 total student poster entries. Texas A&M-Kingsville made up nearly a third of those, with 60 posters.

Awards for first and second were given to doctoral, graduate and undergraduate students in eight different fields of study: agriculture; business and computer information systems; engineering and computer science; environmental science; life science; physical sciences; and social sciences and humanities. A&M-Kingsville took home 14 of these student awards.

There also was an overall category, where first, second and third place awards were given to the best overall doctoral, graduate and undergraduate research efforts. A&M-Kingsville student Mu-shang Yin was awarded 3rd in the overall doctoral category.

The complete list of awards won by Texas A&M-Kingsville is as follows:

Traveling Scholarship Trophy
Texas A&M University-Kingsville

E. Alejandro Lozano, Doctoral, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentor, Dr. Leonard A. Brennan

Business and Computer Information Systems
Johnny D. Villalobos Jr., Undergraduate, 1st Place
Faculty Mentor, Dr. Donald L. Ariail

Engineering and Computer Science
Zuber Farooqui, Doctoral, 1st Place
Faculty Mentors, Dr. Kuruvilla John

Aditi Bandyopadhyay, Doctoral, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentor, Dr. Lee Clapp

Jesus De Los Santos, Graduate, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentor, Dr. Lee Clapp

Andrew Mason-Leister, Undergraduate, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentor, Dr. Larry Peel

Environmental Science
Roja Haritha Gangupomu, Doctoral, 1st Place
Faculty Mentor-Dr. David Ramirez

Vidyasagar Sunkavalli, Graduate, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentor-Dr. David Ramirez

Marcelo Arreola, Undergraduate, 1st Place
Faculty Mentor-Dr. Venkatesh Uddameri

Noe Saenz, Undergraduate, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentor-Dr. Jaehyung Yu

Life Science
David Garcia-Solorzano, Doctoral, 1st Place
Faculty Mentors-Dr. Stephen J. DeMaso

Mu-shang Yin, Education, Doctoral, 3rd Place
Faculty Mentors-Drs. Darwin B. Nelson and
Gary R. Low

Physical Sciences
Chandra Sekhar Apadidem, Graduate, 2nd Place
Faculty Mentors-Drs. Sajid Bashir and Jingbo Liu

Social Sciences and Humanities
Ester Abigail BerRios, Graduate, 2nd Place (Tie)
Faculty Mentor, Dr. Roberto Vela Córdova

Evellia Verdinez, Graduate, 2nd Place (Tie)
Faculty Mentor, Marco Íñiguez-Alba

The Texas A&M University System Pathways Student Research Symposium gives students enrolled in System institutions the opportunity to present findings from their own research, conducted with faculty mentors, and discuss their findings with fellow students and faculty. The program grew out of the Pathways to the Doctorate Program, which provides resources to encourage high-achieving students to pursue doctoral degrees and ultimately careers as teaching and research faculty members.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014