Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville college names outstanding students

KINGSVILLE - May 25, 2012

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

The Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences at Texas A&M University-Kingsville recently held its annual awards program.

Two special awards given by the college include the Friend of the College Award and the Hall of Honor Alumnus Award. Bruce Roberts was named Friend of the College while Eladio H. Cornejo-Oviedo was given the Hall of Honor Alumnus Award.

Roberts was born and raised in the Coastal Bend, graduating from high school in Corpus Christi. He earned a degree in business administration from Texas A&I University. He turned his love for the outdoors and his interest in training bird dogs to good use by starting his own company that provided management consulting to businesses related to the hunting industry.

He has always been a good friend to the college, helping to entertain VIP guests. Roberts is very involved in the research accomplished by the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute science team as he cooperates with the numerous research projects conducted by the scientists, and often initiates the projects himself. He has been an important supporter of the South Texas Charity Quail Hunt each year by providing accommodations for participants as well as bird dogs and hunting rigs during the weekend hunts.

After earning his bachelor’s degree in forestry with a minor in agronomy from the Universidad Autonoma Agraria “Antonio Narro,” Cornejo-Oviedo came to Texas A&I, where he earned a master’s degree in plant and soil science. He went on to receive his doctorate in forest science from Oregon State University.

Prior to and after receiving his doctorate, Cornejo-Oviedo worked in the forestry department at his alma mater, the Universidad Autonoma Agraria “Antonio Narro,” with research focusing on the Ecophysiology of Pine Forests through several regions in Mexico. He is currently a professor, and in 2010, was elected rector (president) of the university. He will serve in this position until 2014.

During his tenure as a professor, Cornejo-Oviedo has created and taught 12 undergraduate and 10 graduate courses. He has served as academic advisor for countless students and has mentored and served as committee advisor to 52 undergraduate and 12 graduate thesis projects released to pine forest mensuration, dendrochronology and ecophysiology.

Student and faculty winners include: 

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Awards 


John Crawford, senior, Corpus Christi 

Agriculture Science

Jacob Eckert, senior, Kingsville 

Plant and Soil Science

Allison Logan, junior, Bloomington 

Animal Science

Isaac Lopez, senior, Harlingen

Range and Wildlife Management

Nick Kolbe, junior, McQueeney 

Family and Consumer Sciences Education

Kelsey Schoenbacher, senior, Spring Grove, Illinois

Fashion and Interiors Merchandising

Valerie Rosales, senior, Katy

Family and Consumer Sciences Education

Cassandra Bunch-Ellis, senior, Alice

Outstanding Graduate Student Awards

Agriculture Science

Jessica Bogart-Reeves, master’s student, Tomball 

Plant and Soil Science-Citrus Center

Carolina Parra, master’s student, McAllen


Trent Whitis, master’s student, New Braunfels

Animal Science

Zach Lopez, master’s student, Harlingen 

Range and Wildlife Management

Kory Gann, master’s student, San Antonio

Wildlife Science

Chase Currie, doctoral student, Tilden

Human Sciences

Courtney Klueber, master’s student, San Antonio 

Outstanding Student Organization

Range Plant Identification Team 

Faculty and Staff Awards 

Staff Excellence Award

Kyle McManus, farm manager 

Advising and Recruiting Award

Dr. Greta Schuester, agriculture, agribusiness and environmental sciences 

Junior Teaching Award

Dr. Sandra Rideout-Hanzak, animal, rangeland and wildlife sciences 

Senior Teaching Award

Dr. Randy Stanko, animals, rangeland and wildlife sciences

Junior Research Award

Dr. Kim McCuistion, animal, rangeland and wildlife sciences

Senior Research Award

Dr. Alan Fedynich, animal, rangeland and wildlife sciences

Dean’s Excellence Award

Veronica Garcia, academic advisor


This page was last updated on: June 14, 2012