To:††††††††††† TAMUK Faculty

From:††† Dr. Brenda Melendy, Graduate Council Secretary (x3609,

Topic:†† Minutes from the regular Graduate Council Meeting of April 13, 2004


Faculty Present:Dr. Rajab Challoo, Dr. Hector Estrada, Dr. Dean Ferguson, Dr. David Hewitt, Dr. Craig Hollingshead, Dr. Steven Lukefahr, Dr. Robert Marshall, Dr. Brenda Melendy, Dr. Alberto Olivares, Dr. Ali Pilehvari, Dr. David Sabrio, Dr. Chu-Sheng Tai, Dr. Guadalupe Thompson.


Faculty Absent:Dr. Fred Ponder, Dr. Jack Shorter, Dr. Randy Stanko.


Graduate Student Representatives Present: Daniel Williams, Patricia Purcell, Jayce Mathews.


Graduate Student Representatives Absent: Erin Monaco, Mary McWithey.


I.††††††††† The meeting was held in the Blue Room of Sam Fore Hall.The meeting was called to order at 2:50 p.m.A motion was made to approve the minutes from the meeting of March 16, 2004.The motion was seconded and approved unanimously.


II.††††††††††† Standing Committee Reports:


††††††††††† A.††††††††††† Executive Committee


Dr. Estrada reported that the updated Graduate Guidelines and Policies will be posted on the Graduate Studies website.


††††††††††† B.††††††††††† Curriculum Committee


Dr. Marshall and the curriculum committee recommended approval of three proposals from the Department of Psychology and Sociology.A motion was made to approve the three proposals, was seconded, and passed unanimously.


C.††††††††††† Membership Committee


No report.


D.††††††††††† Program Review Committee


No report.


The Graduate Council acknowledged the commendable work performed by the committees this year.


III.†††††† Deanís Report


A.††††††† Dr. Olivares distributed the tentative schedule of the meetings for the 2004-2005 Graduate Council.


B.†††††††† Dr. Olivares distributed an information sheet of the curriculum proposals to be considered at the May Board of Regents meeting.


C.†††††††† Dr. Olivares announced the new council members elected to three-year terms to represent their colleges.These representatives are: Dr. Bart Ballard, AG/HS; Dr. Enrique Massa, A/S; Dr. Sameer Vaidya, Bus. Adm.; Dr. Jack Bradley, Ed.; and Dr. Mohammed Faruqi, Eng.


D.††††††† Dr. Olivares conducted Standing Committee elections for AY 2004-2005. The results of the elections are as follows:


††††††††††† Executive Committee:

††††††††††† Chair: Dr. Dean Ferguson (College of Arts & Sciences)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. David Hewitt (College of Ag/HS)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Jack Shorter (College of Business Administration)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Deanna Nekovei (College of Education)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Ali Pilehvari (College of Engineering)


††††††††††† Membership Committee:

††††††††††† Chair:†† Dr. Brenda Melendy (College of Arts & Sciences)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Michelle Garcia (College of Ag/HS)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Emma Garza (College of Education)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Richard Aukerman (College of Business Administration)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Reza Nekovei (College of Engineering)


††††††††††† Curriculum Committee

††††††††††† Chair:†† Dr. Jack Bradley (College of Education)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Donald Nixon (College of Ag/HS)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Mario Carranza (College of Arts & Sciences)††††††††††

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Joseph Rossman (College of Business Administration)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Shuhui Li (College of Engineering)


††††††††††† Program Review Committee

††††††††††† Chair:†† Dr. Sameer Vaidya (College of Business Administration)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Farzad Deyhim (College of Ag/HS)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Paul Hageman (College of Arts & Sciences)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Grace Hopkins (College of Education)

††††††††††††††††††††††† Dr. Kambiz Farahmand (College of Engineering)


IV.†††††† Student Representatives


No business.


V.††††††† Old Business


††††††††††† None.


VI.†††††† New Business




VII.††††† A motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 3:35 pm.The motion was seconded and passed.Unless important business arises in the summer months, the next meeting of the Graduate Council is scheduled for September 2004.


Respectfully submitted,



††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††† Dr. Brenda Melendy, Secretary