Dr. Steven Tallant will officially become a Javelina

KINGSVILLE (February 9, 2009) – Dr. Steven Tallant may have been president of Texas A&M University-Kingsville for more than four months now, but he still isn’t an official Javelina. That will be taken care of, however, when Tallant is officially inaugurated into the position of president during a ceremony at 1 p.m. Friday, Feb. 20, in Jones Auditorium on Armstrong Street.

Tallant will receive an official university ring signifying he has become a bona fide Javelina. He also will receive a medallion from Mike McKinney, M.D., chancellor of The Texas A&M University System.

Prior to the start of the inauguration ceremony, Tallant, members of the A&M-Kingsville faculty and staff and other invited guests, will process through the center of campus to the ceremony site. International students will carry the flag of their country, making for a very colorful march. Following the ceremony, a reception will be held in the ballrooms of the Memorial Student Union Building.

A university-wide committee has been busy making preparations for the inauguration and all the pomp and circumstance that go with it for a couple of months now. Dr. Terisa Remelius, vice president for student affairs, and Randy Hughes, vice president for institutional advancement, are chairing the committee.

Other members of the committee include budget and finance, Marcy Flores and Paula Hanson; facilities and grounds, David Standish and Silver Chapa; culinary selections and preparations, Steve Kauf and Dr. Kathleen Rees; invitations, Raquel Garcia and Darrell Lynn Pray, assisted by Heather Elsik, Margie M. Galvan, Paula Holmes, Carol Jones, Lori Russek, Debbie Scholz and Mary Alice Wiechman; local arrangements and commemorative items, Toni Alvarez, Laura Knippers and Jay Zambrano, assisted by Dr. John da Graca, Kay Irby, Carol Jones, Tom Perkins, Darrell Lynn Pray, Dr. Kathleen Rees and John Salinas; music, Dr. Paul Hageman, Brian Shelton and Dr. Kenneth Williams; processional and recessional, Cheryl Cain, Bruce Schueneman and Millie Slaughter, assisted by Ralph Davis, Norma Flores and Pam Trant; and ceremony, Norma Flores and Pam Trant.

More committee members are publicity and printing, Cheryl Cain and Mary Alice Wiechman, assisted by Julie Navejar, Dr. Larry Peel and Doug Smith; security and safety, Chief Sandra Jefferson and Lt. Hiram Perez, assisted by Sgt. Roma Alvarez, Officer Diana Farias, Capt. Salvador Franco, Sgt. Valentin Gonzalez and Cpl. Tanya Little; staging and decorations, Gary Davis, Heather Elsik, Margie M. Galvan, Belinda Hughes, Lori Russek, Roy Sanchez, Charlie Wilson and Silver Chapa; transportation, Nino Mendietta and Frank Ureño, assisted by Thomas Bingham, Joe Cusack, Charles Espinoza, Romy Timmons and Crispin Trevino; ushers and greeters, Joe Cusack and Mary Gonzalez, assisted by Carmelino Castillo and Kathy Pawelek; committee secretaries, Raquel Garcia and Paula Holmes; community liaisons, Alice Byers, Ann Harrell and Dr. Mary Springs, assisted by Lucy Perez and Stephanie Yuma; student liaisons; Gabriel Geyne and Alyssa Trevino; and alumni liaisons, Selina Kieschnick, Jay Zambrano and Susan Skrobarczyk.

For more information on the inauguration of Dr. Tallant, please call 361-593-2590.