Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Javelina rodeo team to host championship rodeo

Equestrian Center-Richard M. Borchard Fairgrounds, Robstown - 02/19/14 - 03/01/14

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

The Texas A&M University-Kingsville Rodeo Team will host the B.K. Beefmasters Collegiate Rodeo Friday and Saturday, Feb. 28 and March 1, at the Equestrian Center at the Richard M. Borchard Fairgrounds in Robstown. 

Teams from 10 other colleges and universities in the region are expected to compete. A preliminary round will be held at 7 p.m. Friday and the finals begin at 3 p.m. Saturday. Admission is free. 

Events at this year’s rodeo include bullriding, bareback riding, tiedown calf roping, girls breakaway roping, saddle bronc riding, steer wrestling, girls goat tying, team roping and girls barrel racing.

This year’s sponsors include B.K. Beefmasters; IBC Bank-Zapata; R. and P. Ramirez; E.G. Aggregate, LDR, LLC; Jose and Elva Guevara; Don Jose L. and Cattle Co.; VPS Well Testing LLC; John H. Cornelius; Hoffman H30 Ranch LTD; Sendero Oil Field Services; CC Disposal; Community Bank; Leonard and Melba Specht; Chappell Safety; Andrews Distributing; U.S. Safety and Promotion; Kenedy Ranch; Phil Neessen; Lone Star Bank; HP Propane and Fuel, Inc.; Liveoak Livestock Auction; Solution Integrated Chemicals; Burt Bull Ranches; IBC Bank Corpus Christi; Ricardo Ranch and Feed; Myane Insulation and Construction Co.; Oneta Company (Pepsi); Love Chrysler; Agri-Insurance-Lynn and Tootie Ilse; Nueces Power Equipment; Coldwell Banker; Blake Fulenwider Chrysler; Glen Wilkinson DMV; and HY Ho Silver Buckles.

Texas A&M-Kingsville has the only collegiate rodeo team south of San Antonio. They compete in 10 rodeos per season to accumulate points for the college championships.

Active members of the Javelina rodeo team include Zach Arnold from Orange Grove; Joseph Briseno from Elgin; Avery Brown from Victoria; Klaudia Carillo from Freer; Lindie Dollery from Caldwell; Abigail Espinosa from Mission; Madisson Grimes from Fayetteville, Georgia; Amber Rae Heniecke from Three Rivers; Samantha Miller from Harlingen; Reynold Munoz from Uvalde; Justin Mutina from Alvin; Omar Oyoque from Mercedes; Ty Runge from Mercedes; Graves Wallace from Pearsall; Wes Wyrick from Hondo; and Kristian Zamora from Mission.


This page was last updated on: February 19, 2014