Texas A&M University-Kingsville

First Annual Javelina Cup Mathematics Competition

One hundred thirty-eight 7th, 8th, and 9th graders from nineteen South Texas schools
competed for scholarships and iTunes gift cards in the first annual Javelina Cup Mathematics
Competition held February 11, 2012 at Peacock Auditorium on the TAMUK campus.

Individual Winners

Jackson Preschler and Jonas Gallegos, both seventh graders at Flour Bluff Jr. High, tied
for the top prize, each receiving a $1250 TAMUK scholarship. Tyler Mixon, an 8th grader at
George West Jr. High, finished third and was awarded a $500 TAMUK scholarship.

top 2

Jackson Preschler and Jonas Gallegos of Flour Bluff
Jr. High with Dr. Michael Houf, Interim Dean of the
College of Arts and Sciences.


Dr. Houf Congratulates Third Place winner
Tyler Mixon of George West Jr. High School.


Team Trophies

lst Team

First Place:  Flour Bluff Jr. High
Blake Buell, Jackson Preschler, Jonas
Gallegos, Angelica Villarreal

2nd place Second Place:  George West Jr. High
(L-R) Morgan Miller, Taylor Thompson, Dylan
Orr, Tyler Mixon, Isabella Chapa
3rd team Third Place: George West High School
(L-R) Ray Jones, Garret Feist, Emily Ellison,
Susan Crawford

Top 23 finishers receiving a $25 ITunes gift card:  Jackson Preschler, Jonas Gallegos, Tyler
Mixon, Thalia M. Polanco, Isabella Chapa, Blake Buell, Benjamin Chi, Emily Ellison, Morgan
Miller, Cindy Hernandez, Jasmine Mendez, Brandon Campos, Dylan Orr, Jose L. Garcia, Joshua
Haley, Diane Montez, Sarah Crawford, Chrishian Reyes, Samson Sewell, Peng Tang, Valentin
Mendietta, Andrew Remelius, Vito Recio

Participating Schools

Taft High School Driscoll Middle School
Santa Gertrudis Middle School Flour Bluff Junior High
Santa Gertrudis Academy High School Lyford High School
Dr. Juliet V. Garcia Middle School (Brownsville)     Sinton High School
London School Runge High School
Leon Taylor Junior High (Ingleside) Harlingen High School
Banquete High School Bishop High School
Freer High School Luehrs Junior High School (Bishop)
George West High School San Diego High School
George West Jr. High

Thanks to all faculty, staff, and friends of the Department of Mathematics for helping to
plan and implement the event:  Stephen Sedory, Ramiro Torres, Michael Muzheve, Betty Fowler,
Aden Ahmed, Sarjinder Singh, Blake Ogden, Slavka Bodjanova, Mark Cortez, Lou Thurston,
Elizabeth Wiseman, Collette Ogden, and Bruce Lee.

Special thanks to Dr. Ravi Agarwal, Chair of the Department of Mathematics, Dr. Mike Houf,
interim Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Dr. Rex Gandy, Provost; Dr. Terisa Riley,
Vice President of Student Affairs; Mr. Manual Lujan, Associate Vice President for Enrollment
Management; and Ms. Laura Knippers, Associate Director for Admissions, for their donations
and support.

This page was last updated on: May 09, 2013