Skip to main content

Students and faculty win big at 56th Texas Chapter of the Wildlife Society Awards

Posted on

Pictured left to right: Austin Killam, a master’s student from Missouri City; Megan Granger, a master’s student from Spring Branch; Dr. Clayton Hilton.

Pictured left to right: Austin Killam, a master’s student from Missouri City; Megan Granger, a master’s student from Spring Branch; Dr. Clayton Hilton.

Students and faculty from the Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture and Natural Resources brought home a number of awards from the Texas Chapter of the Wildlife Society (TCTWS) state meeting in February. 

Alex Meza, a junior from Mission, received first place in photography in the Humor Category. 

The plant identification team placed second as a team with Kye Johnston, a senior from Victoria, placing second in the individual score competition.

Plant team identification members include seniors Kye Johnston from Victoria, Julio Cesar Menchaca from La Grulla and Nathan Young from Corpus Christi; juniors Alejandro Bazaldua from Harlingen, Micayla Pearson from La Vernia and Cheyenne Ruiz from San Antonio; and sophomore Shaelyn Rainey from Stephenville.

Graduate students from the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute at A&M-Kingsville brought home a number of awards. Megan Granger, a master’s student from Spring Branch, earned the Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award. Granger also took first place in the graduate poster competition and Austin Killam, a master’s student from Missouri City, placed third.

In the Cottam Graduate Presentations, A&M-Kingsville earned second and third place awards. Alexandria DiMaggio, a master’s student from Pettus, placed second. Placing third was doctoral student Jason Lombardi from Nutley, New Jersey.

The Graduate National Wildlife Turkey Federation scholarship was awarded to Nicole Traub, a doctoral student from Trinity.

Faculty members also received major awards. Shyla Rabe and contributors earned the Outstanding Electronic Media award. Dr. Leonard Brennan, Professor and C.C. “Charlie” Winn Endowed Chair for Quail Research, Avian Ecology and Upland Game Birds, Dr. Bart Ballard, Professor and C. Berdon and Rolanette Lawrence Endowed Chair in Waterfowl Research, and Dr. William Kuvlesky, Professor in Wildlife Science, earned the Outstanding Book award for their book entitled The Upland and Webless Migratory Game Birds of Texas.

A group of faculty also won an award for their popular article Using Genetic Tools to Guide Management of Chronic Wasting Disease in Texas Mule Deer. Those faculty include Dr. Randy DeYoung, Professor and Research Scientist; Dr. Timothy Fulbright, Regents Professor and Endowed Meadows Professor in Semiarid Land Ecology, Wildlife Habitat Management; Dr. Humberto Perotto-Baldivieso, Assistant Professor and Research Scientist; and Dr. David Hewitt, Professor and Leroy G. Denman Jr. Endowed Executive Director of Wildlife Research.

Dr. Mike Tewes received the Educator of the Year award and the award for Outstanding Technical Publication for Conservation Status of the Endangered Ocelot in the United States – A 35-year perspective.

About Dr. Mike Tewes

Dr. Michael Tewes grew up in Odem, 35 miles north of Kingsville. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in wildlife science from Texas A&M University and his doctorate in wildlife resources from University of Idaho. He began working with ocelots during the first year of the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute in 1981.

In 2007, he was named a Regents Professor, the highest honor for a professor in the Texas A&M University System. The next year, Tewes became the first holder of the Frank D. Yturria Endowed Chair in Wild Cat Studies.

During his time studying wild cats, Tewes has worked with ocelots, bobcats and mountain lions in Texas; ocelots, jaguarundi in Mexico; clouded leopards, golden cats, marbled cats and leopard cats in Thailand; leopard in Africa; and viverrids in Taiwan.

About the Texas Chapter of the Wildlife Society

The Texas Chapter of the Wildlife Society was formed in 1965 and conforms to the bylaws, policies, code of ethics, objectives, and position statements of The Wildlife Society. Chapter efforts are designed to involve resource professionals and stimulate involvement by all concerned individuals. 

The TCTWS strives to become the acknowledged source of scientific information and expertise concerning wildlife biology and management in Texas. The TCTWS participates in a global society in which the conservation of wildlife is a common goal. Wildlife resource decisions are made after consideration of relevant scientific information, in consultation with wildlife professionals, and with the support of an informed and caring citizenry.


Category: General Univ , Ag/Env & Wildlife Sci , Awards/Honors

Media Contact

News Archives