Skip to main content

Texas A&M-Kingsville Wildlife Society brings home trophy number 13

Posted on

The Student Chapter of the Wildlife Society at Texas A&M University-Kingsville received the Student Chapter of the Year award at the state conference held recently in San Antonio. This is the 13th time in 16 years the Texas A&M-Kingsville chapter has brought this award home.

The plant ID team placed second with members Joey Cortez, Roma; Logan Standiford, Lago Vista; Alejandro Trevino, Laredo; Dillan Drabek, Schulenberg; Peyton Cody, Coleman; Jeremy Scholl, Houston; and Kai Johnson, Victoria.

The Quiz Bowl team placed third with members David Campbell, Vidor; Travis Dillard, Leander; Heather Hannusch, Houston; and Blake McPhaul, Bastrop.

Campbell also was named Outstanding Undergraduate Student. He placed first in the undergraduate photo contest in the work-related category.

Dillard also was third in the Undergraduate Poster contest with his entry Efficacy of mint-scented spray to repel rodents.

In the Graduate Poster competition, Michaela Rice from Minnesota placed second with her entry Environmental and capture stress: white-tailed deer in a stochastic environment. Emily Wells, from California, was third in the same category. Her poster entry was Wintering Sandhill crane habitat selection along the Texas Gulf Coast. Both are master’s students.

Texas A&M-Kingsville swept the plants and scenery photo contest. Zach Pearson, a master’s student from La Vernia was first, Laura Warner, a master’s student from Michigan was second and Nikki Hansen, an undergraduate from Schertz was third. Pearson also placed first in the wildlife category.

The Javelina team also swept the art category. Isidore Jarzombek, an undergraduate from San Antonio was first, Wells was second and Hannusch was third. Jarzombek also placed second in the wildlife conservation category and was Best in Show.

Dan Taylor, a master’s student from Maryland, was first in the wildlife conservation division.

A group of faculty won the Scientific Publication Award for their paper Phylogeography of the Bobwhite Quails in Wildlife Monographs. Authors included Dr. Damon Williford, research scientist; Dr. Randy DeYoung, research scientist and associate professor; Dr. Leonard Brennan, C.C. "Charlie" Winn Endowed Chair for Quail Research, research scientist and professor; and Dr. Fidel Hernandez, Alfred C. Glassell, Jr., Endowed Professor for Quail Research, research scientist and professor.

DeYoung is the outgoing president of Texas Chapter of The Wildlife Society.       

The Texas A&M-Kingsville chapter is one of 14 student chapters in the state, but authored 27 of 112 presentations and 34 of 97 posters at the conference.


Media Contact

News Archives