Texas A&M University-Kingsville November
Open main menu

November 2016

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation has selected Stephen J. “Tio” Kleberg and Dr. Fred C. Bryant to be inducted in the 2017 Texas Conservation Hall of Fame. They are being honored for their individual achievements and their work together at the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute (CKWRI). Bryant is the Leroy G. Denman, Jr. Endowed Director of the CKWRI at Texas A&M University- Kingsville. The institute provides science-based information for enhancing the...Read more  

The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents recently designated 11 faculty members and seven agency service, extension or research professionals within the A&M System as Regents Professors and Regents Fellows for 2015-2016. Representing Texas A&M University-Kingsville is Dr. Kim Jones, professor and director for the Institute for Sustainable Energy and the Environment in the department of environmental engineering. He is the 15th Regents Professor at Texas...Read more  

A group of civil and architectural engineering students from Texas A&M University-Kingsville took first place at the inaugural Student Preservation Construction Competition, sponsored by the Association for Preservation Technology International (APTI).  The competition was part of the APTI annual conference, held in San Antonio.  The competition was in two parts. The first part involved designing and constructing a six-foot timber bridge, using the technology and...Read more  

Dr. Scott Henke, Regents Professor and chair of the animal, rangeland and wildlife science department at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, recently received the prestigious Student Chapter Advisor of the Year in North America award from The Wildlife Society.  Henke is advisor to the Student Chapter of The Wildlife Society at Texas A&M-Kingsville that has won the Outstanding Student Chapter Award five times, most recently in 2015. There are 139 student chapters in the United...Read more  

Dr. Matthew Hulbert, history lecturer, at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, was honored recently with the C. Vann Woodward Dissertation Prize given by the Southern Historical Association. Hulbert’s dissertation was Guerrilla Memory: Irregular Recollections from the Civil War Borderlands written under the director of John Inscoe at University of Georgia.  “The award is given annually for the best doctoral dissertation covering any historical aspect or time...Read more  

Students from Texas A&M University-Kingsville brought home the traveling trophy from the Texas A&M University System Pathways Student Research Symposium held recently at Prairie View A&M University. Top winners in both undergraduate and graduate categories were from A&M-Kingsville. Undergraduate winners include  Britny Spencer: senior psychology major from Corpus Christi, first place, overall poster and first place, social sciences poster Lisa West: senior...Read more  

News Archives