Texas A&M University-Kingsville Winners for Engineering Senior Design Conference
Open main menu

Winners for Engineering Senior Design Conference

Posted on Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Engineering Senior Design Winners

The Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering announced the winners of its 2015 Annual Engineering Senior Design Conference May 13, at the college’s Senior Brunch. 

All undergraduate engineering students in the Dotterweich College of Engineering complete comprehensive design projects during their senior year. The Senior Design Conference highlights their work through oral presentations and project displays. 

This year, over 200 students – 56 teams – presented their work at the Senior Design Conference. Awards were given in the categories of Best Presentation, Best Poster, Best Paper and Best Overall. 

Teams were judged by representatives from industry, the faculty, and alumni. Scores weighted 50% for the project report (as judged by the student’s instructor), 40% for the oral presentation (as rated by the panel of judges) and 10% for the poster (as rated by a panel of judges). 

Cash awards from $100 to $700 were given to the winners, with a $2,500 award to the Best Overall project. 

            The winners were as follows— 

Best Poster Awards

3rd place – Team 40 – “Coupled Tank Water Level Control System”

                  Team Members: Isaac Corley, Steven Garza, Razil Garbacz 

2nd place – Team 42 – “Wireless Power Transmission”

                  Team Members: Trevor Davidson, Taylor Meadows, Justin Pineda 

1st place – Team 18 – “Pedestrian Bridge at Avenue B”

                  Team Members: Salvador Trevino, Dustin Sheppard, Eleasar Salinas


Best Presentation Awards

3rd place – Team 5 – “CITGO Unibon Recycle Hydrogen Compressor”

                  Team Members: Jonathan Verduzco, Daniel Rodriguez, Jacob Bunn,

                                       Clarissa Arellano 

2nd place – Team 20 – “Separation and Recovery of Aluminum from Water Treatment Sludge”

                  Team Members: Hunter Balzen, Ajia Fielden, Maria Corona, Christina Saldivar 

1st place – Team 53 – “McBride Lift Station”

                  Team Members: Sharam Santillan, Daniel Gusme, Josue Garcia, Anthony Gonzalez

Best Paper Awards

3rd place – Team 11 – “Natural Gas to Olefins”

                  Team Members: Kyle March, James Milligan, Deborah Nieto 

2nd place – Team 31 – “Waste Plastic Shredder and Pelletizer”

                  Team Members: Reshard Asmore, Brittany Chapa, Christopher Dunkelberg,

                                             Albert Longoria, Quinton Porter 

1st place – Team 19 – “Ammonia Recovery from Wastewater for Reuse”

                  Team Members: Taylor Tinnell, William Walz, Carson Alsop, Juan Martinez


The Frank H. Dotterweich & June Smith Dotterweich Memorial Trust Award for the 2016 Top Senior Design Project:

Team 20 – “Separation and Recovery of Aluminum from Water Treatment Sludge”

                  Team Members: Hunter Balzen, Ajia Fielden, Maria Corona, Christina Saldivar


Marketing and Communications

News Archives