Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville's Student Wildlife Society brings home seventh Chapter of the Year award

KINGSVILLE - March 14, 2011

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

The Student Chapter of the Wildlife Society from Texas A&M University-Kingsville is getting used to bringing home awards. At the Texas Chapter meeting in February, the group collected their seventh Student Chapter of the Year Award, a second place finish for the Professional Development Award and a first place team award for the Plant Identification Team.

 The Student Chapter of the Year award is the highest award that can be received at the state level. In 2010, they placed second.

In addition to group awards, a Texas A&M-Kingsville student received first place for the prestigious Clarence Cottam Award for the second year in a row. Joe Holbrook, a master’s student in range and wildlife science from Idaho, placed first. Another Javelina, Erin Cord from Delaware, placed third in the Cottam Award competition. She is a range and wildlife science master’s student from Idaho.

In group competition, the Plant Identification Team placed first with team member Travis Muckleroy taking first in the individual contest. Muckleroy is a senior from Jourdanton. The rest of the team includes seniors Jose Pearson from La Vernia; Dusty Jansky from Victoria; and junior Jorge Molina from Mexico.

Other individual winners include Thomas Janke, a senior range and wildlife science major from Bartlett, who placed first in the undergraduate scholarship competition and first in the undergraduate poster contest for his work Are Radiotelemetry survival estimates of northern bobwhite biased low? An Evaluation using Population Viability Analysis.

Chase Currie, a wildlife science doctoral student from Tilden, was first in the graduate student poster contest for the poster on his research Proportions of white-tailed deer using medicated bait sites. Jennifer Korn, another wildlife science doctoral student from Kingsville, placed first in the graduate scholarship competition. Eric Grahmann, a wildlife science doctoral student from Victoria, was first in the professional plant identification contest.

Marcus Blum, a senior range and wildlife science major from Caldwell, was third in the undergraduate scholarship competition.

Students were not the only representatives from Texas A&M-Kingsville bringing home the hardware. Several faculty members also were winners.

Dr. Bart Ballard, associate professor and research scientist, was named Educator of the Year. Dr. Fidel Hernandez, associate professor and Alfred C. Glassell, Jr. Endowed Professor in Quail Research, and Dr. Leonard Brennan, professor and Endowed Chair for Quail Research, won the Best Electronic Publication award for their work entitled Bobwhite Post.

Dr. Tim Fulbright, professor and Endowed Meadows Professor in Semiarid Land Ecology, and Dr. David Hewitt, professor and Stuart W. Stedman Chair for White-tailed Deer Research, received the award for Best Book--Wildlife Science: Linking Ecological Theory and Management Applications. All wildlife faculty members from the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute authored chapters in the book.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014