Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Several Texas A&M-Kingsville faculty win Student Recognition Award for teaching excellence

KINGSVILLE - March 24, 2011

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Twenty faculty members at Texas A&M University-Kingsville earned the Texas A&M University System Student Recognition Award for Teaching Excellence, formerly known as the Teaching Excellence Awards.

The faculty winners represent the top 25 percent of those who participated and will receive checks for $2,500 each. More than 1,000 faculty members from around the A&M System participated in the program; over 250 awards were given, totaling $697,500 to outstanding faculty throughout the system for the fall 2010 presentation of the Student Recognition Award for Teaching Excellence.

“Teaching is very important to us,” said Michael D. McKinney, chancellor of the A&M System. “And when the students being taught give special recognition to the teachers who are making an impact on them, it says a lot about the quality faculty we have throughout the system.”

Texas A&M-Kingsville faculty recipients for fall 2010 were:

Lydia Gonzalez; lecturer in biological and health sciences;

Jerome Tymrak; lecturer, agronomy and resource sciences;

Nelson Miller; assistant professor, curriculum and instruction

Cyndi Walker; lecturer, psychology and sociology;

Adria Vasquez; lecturer, finance and economics;

Mario Casa De Calvo; assistant professor, psychology and sociology;

Judith Cole; professor, music;

Donald Daughtry; associate professor, psychology and sociology;

Laura Garza; assistant professor, psychology and sociology;

Zak Watson; assistant professor, language and literature;

Randy Powell; assistant professor, biological and health sciences;

Randall Williams; professor, agronomy and resource sciences;

Carl Murphy; assistant professor, chemical and natural gas engineering;

Olivia Lopez; assistant professor, psychology and sociology;

David Sabrio; Regent’s professor, language and literature;

Carl Saltarelli; assistant professor, communications and theatre arts;

Michelle Johnson Vela; associate professor, language and literature;

Jaehyung Yu; associate professor, physics and geosciences;

Nirmal Goswami; professor, political science; and

Priti Verma, assistant professor, finance and economics.


Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014