Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Internationally-known eighth blackbird brings unique brand of contemporary classical music to A&M-Kingsville

KINGSVILLE - October 22, 2010

Contact: Adriana Garza
adriana.garza@tamuk.edu or 361-593-4979


Grammy-award winning performers eighth blackbird will bring their unique take on contemporary classical music to Texas A&M University-Kingsville as the third installment of the 2010 Presidential Performing and Visual Arts Series.

The group will perform at 8 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 28, in Jones Auditorium. Admission is free for students with valid university identification. Tickets are available to the general public for $8 or $20 for tickets to the remaining three shows in the Presidential Performing and Visual Arts Series.

With a distinct approach that melds classical and contemporary, eighth blackbird has earned international acclaim since its creation in 1996. The group won a Grammy Award in 2008 for Best Chamber Music Performance. The sextet often plays from memory, adding a theatrical flair to each performance.

 The group will perform an all acoustic set that will include pieces from well-known composers, including Pierre Boulez, Missy Mazzoli and Thomas Ades.

Current members of eighth blackbird include:

  • Tim Munro, flutes
  • Michael J. Maccaferri, clarinets
  • Matt Albert, violin & viola
  • Nicholas Photinos, cello
  • Matthew Duvall, percussion
  • Lisa Kaplan, piano

The Presidential Performing and Visual Arts Series is a year-long program of art, music and theatre performances that bring culture and variety to Kingsville for faculty, staff, students and community audiences. The intention is to bring a new element to learning outside the classroom for students as they are entertained and educated in venues they might not normally visit. Community members are welcome to continue life-long learning by attending these events and interacting with our students. For more information, call 593-2769.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014