Texas A&M University-Kingsville

President's Legacy Ball Date Set, Committee Named

KINGSVILLE - February 05, 2010

Contact: Jason Marton
jason.marton@tamuk.edu or 361.593.4143


Texas A&M-Kingsville honors friends of university at President’s Legacy Ball

The committee of the President’s Legacy Ball, held annually at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, has announced the date for this year’s event. The 2010 event will be Saturday, April 17, in the Grand Ballrooms of the Memorial Student Union Building.

The President’s Legacy Ball is hosted by the university’s President and First Lady, Dr. Steven Tallant and wife, Karen. It serves as an opportunity to reach out and thank the friends and donors to Texas A&M-Kingsville. Specifically, the event supports student scholarships at A&M-Kingsville and honors members of the Legacy Society, made up of individuals and organizations donating $100,000 or more to the university.

The art for this year’s legacy ball was provided by local artist Dolores Price. Her piece, an acrylic entitled Directions to Life, graces the invitations and other printed materials. In addition, prints featuring this year’s art will be available for sale at the ball.

This year’s ball will begin at 6 p.m. with dinner served at 7:15 p.m. A silent auction will be held from 6 to 9 p.m. and dancing will begin at 8 p.m. and continue until 11 p.m. Individual tickets are $125. For ticket information, call 361-593-4191.

First Lady Karen Tallant chairs the President’s Legacy Ball planning committee. The committee is composed of members of Kingsville community as well as faculty and staff from the university.

The remainder of the committee includes Evelyn Alexander, Judy Allen, Glenda Best, Cheryl Cain, Maria Crowley, Ricki Cunningham, Mary Cusack, Patricia Cypher, Jane Dodds, Heather Elsik, Darlynn Fugate, Dr. Maria Estela Garcia, Raquel Garcia, Aurora Garza, Ginger Gines, Scott Gines, George Henkel, Goldia Hubert, Belinda Hughes, Marchia Hutchison, Selina Kieschnick, Sandra Messbarger, Joan Nuesch, Dolores Price, Dr. Grace Ruiz, Lori Russek, Dr. Graciela N. Salazar, Darlene Scott, Fran Sharpe, Jean Claire Turcotte, Peggy Westbrook, Sylvia Woelfel, Charis Yaklin and Lynn Yaklin.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014