Texas A&M University-Kingsville

A&M-Kingsville Political Honor Society Among Nation’s Best

KINGSVILLE - September 15, 2009

Contact: Jason Marton
jason.marton@tamuk.edu or 361.593.4143

The Texas A&M University-Kingsville chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, the national honor society for political science, was named one of the best in the nation.

The honor society’s national office gave the A&M-Kingsville chapter a Best Chapter award—one of only four such awards given to schools with 6,000-15,000 enrollment, and one of only 12 best chapter awards given to schools of all size. This is from nearly 700 chapters nationwide.

The award is intended to recognize local chapters that are particularly active in their departments and universities, and exhibit high levels of energy and creativity in furthering the goals of the honor society. The national office uses the annual reports of the chapters to determine the Best Chapter winners.

During the 2008-2009 academic year, Pi Sigma Alpha was a part of a number of important campus programs and events. They included hosting a Presidential Inauguration Party, where the campus community could watch President Obama’s inauguration speech and post-inauguration interviews; supporting a voter registration drive conducted by the Pre-Law Society; and working with two other student organizations to clean up a highway in the community.

In addition, members of Pi Sigma Alpha met with State Representative Tara Rios-Ybarra and toured the State Capitol, and raised funds for the chapter by participating in the Spring Fling event on campus.

The other recipients of the Best Chapter award for schools with 6,000-15,000 enrollment were the Iota Mu Chapter of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock; the Omicron Omega Chapter of SUNY Plattsburgh; and the Tau Psi Chapter of Purdue University Calumet. The TAMUK chapter is the Pi Sigma Chapter.

“Of course, the chapter and department are excited by the recognition, which was unanticipated,” said Pi Sigma Alpha faculty sponsor Dr. J.D. Phaup. “We represent one of the smallest universities in our category, competing with universities with up to 15,000 students.

“The credit goes to the members of the chapter for their individual contributions. Particular recognition has to go to Julie Prentice, who was chapter president and wrote the annual report. Julie was a very positive force because she worked so well with the other members. 

“The best thing about the award is how it has inspired this year’s members. Under the leadership of Anthony Smith, this year’s president, they already have plenty of ideas for worthy projects this year, including plans to apply for a $2,000 chapter activity grant from the national honor society.” Phaup noted a similar chapter activity grant earned in 2007 which brought former Secretary of Education to speak at the chapter’s annual recognition banquet and to the community in a separate presentation.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 31, 2012