Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Sixteen A&M-Kingsville Faculty Receive Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Awards

KINGSVILLE - March 02, 2009

Contact: Jason Marton
jason.marton@tamuk.edu or 361.593.4143

Texas A&M-Kingsville part of pilot program introducing student-evaluated award

Sixteen faculty members at Texas A&M University-Kingsville have been presented with the Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Award, a honor developed through the Office of the Chancellor of The Texas A&M University System.

The award is given to those faculty members that score the highest in student evaluations of their class.

Among the qualities ranked by students in the evaluation are the instructor’s knowledge of the class subject; whether they stimulated critical thinking; whether an atmosphere of learning was created; the enthusiasm of the instructor; and if the student would recommend the course to others.

Faculty members of Texas A&M-Kingsville awarded the Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Awards were:

  • Karen L. Furgerson, associate professor, educational leadership and counseling
  • Cyndi C. Walker-Ewert, lecturer, psychology and sociology
  • Mauro E. Castro, professor, chemistry
  • Mario P. Casa de Calvo, assistant professor, psychology and sociology
  • Jerome M. Tymrak, lecturer, agronomy and resource sciences
  • Greta Schuster, associate professor, agronomy and resource sciences
  • Fred T. Ponder, professor, educational leadership and counseling
  • Judith W. Cole, professor, music
  • Christine Ennis, lecturer, music
  • Susan W. Sabrio, lecturer, mathematics
  • Elizabeth Casa de Calvo, lecturer, psychology and sociology
  • Odette Gonzalez, lecturer, communication sciences and disorders
  • Shannon L. Baker, associate professor, history
  • Horacio A. Duarte, associate professor, chemical and natural gas engineering
  • Laura C. Garza, assistant professor, psychology and sociology
  • Carl David Murphy, visiting associate professor, chemical and natural gas engineering           

Texas A&M-Kingsville joined Prairie View A&M University and Texas A&M University as the first three universities in the Texas A&M University System to implement the Chancellor’s Teaching Excellence Awards, as part of a pilot program. According to interim provost Dr. Ronn Hy, the launch went well, with 88 faculty members participating.

“We’re appreciative that award money was set aside for this select group,” said Hy. “This is one way to measure teaching—not the only way, certainly, but one way that highlights the strengths of our faculty.”

All faculty members were given the chance to participate from September 4 - October 1, 2008. The student evaluation period ran from November 5 - December 1, 2008.

Each evaluated course had to have a minimum enrollment of 15 students and offer at least three semester credit hours. Also, each course had to have a minimum 50 percent evaluation return rate.

The evaluation used by students was developed by The Texas A&M University System vice chancellor for academic affairs. Items included on the evaluation were selected from a pool of items submitted by system academic officers, system faculty governance bodies and system student government associations.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012