Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville Schedules Spring Commencement May 16

KINGSVILLE - April 23, 2008

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Senator Eddie Lucio Jr.

More than 600 prospective graduates are ready to cross the stage to receive their degrees during two commencement ceremonies to be held at the Steinke Physical Education Center at Texas A&M University-Kingsville Friday, May 16.

At the 4 p.m. ceremony, graduates from the colleges of Arts and Sciences and Business Administration will receive their degrees. The colleges of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences and Education and the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering will confer degrees at the 7 p.m. ceremony.

The keynote speaker is State Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. from District 27. Michael D. McKinney, M.D., chancellor of The Texas A&M University System, will bring the greeting from the System.

Thomas Bingham, president of the Student Government Association, will present the Distinguished Student Awards.

Alvaro Hinojosa, president of the Javelina Alumni Association, will present the official university ring to one graduate, funded by the association. Selection from the applicants is based on leadership, campus and community service, letter of recommendation, challenges while in school and honors and awards.

About Texas Senator Eddie Lucio Jr.

Lucio is a native of Brownsville. He was first elected to the Texas Senate in November 1990 and is now in his sixth term in the Senate. Prior to being elected senator, Lucio served two terms in the Texas House of Representatives. Lucio began his public service in Cameron County in 1971 as the youngest person in the state ever elected to the post of county treasurer. He continued to serve Cameron County as a commissioner.

In the Texas Senate, Lucio is a member of the powerful Senate Finance Committee and serves as Chairman of the International Relations and Trade Committee. He also sits on the Committees on Business and Commerce, State Affairs and the Subcommittee on Emerging Technologies and Economic Development.

Lucio received the Government Advocate Award from the United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. He was named Senator of the Year by the Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas and he was recognized for his efforts to limit frivolous lawsuits by both the Texas Civil Justice League and Texans for Tort Reform. Lucio was given the Senator John Traeger Award for Legislator of the Year by the Texas Public Employee Association. He also has received awards from the American Cancer Society, the Texas Municipal League, the Texas Library Association, the National Park Service and the Texas Affiliation of Affordable Housing Providers.

He is president and CEO of Rio Shelters Inc., a marketing/advertising agency he has operated since 1985.

About Michael D. McKinney, M.D.

McKinney was named chancellor of The Texas A&M University System on Nov. 22, 2006. A family physician, he came to the A&M System from the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, where he had served as senior executive vice president and chief operating officer since September 2003. He had served in leadership positions at the UT System since 2002, including vice chancellor for health affairs at the UT System administrative offices in Austin and acting dean of the UT Medical School in Houston.

During 2001 and 2002, Dr. McKinney served as chief of staff to Gov. Rick Perry. From 1995 to 1998, during former Gov. George W. Bush’s first term, he was Texas commissioner of health and human services. From 1984 to 1991, he represented Leon, Madison, Grimes, Houston and Montgomery Counties in the Texas House of Representatives. He was speaker pro-tempore of the House from 1989 to 1990.

His many honors and achievements include receiving the Physician’s Recognition Award from the American Medical Association in 2006 and the Presidential Award of Merit for Exemplary Service from the Texas Academy of Family Practice. As a state representative, he was recognized as one of the 10 best legislators by both Texas Monthly and The Dallas Morning News, and as an outstanding legislator by the Texas Medical Association and the Texas Department of Commerce.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012