Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Students, Faculty, Alumni Recognized At Annual Banquet

KINGSVILLE - June 06, 2007

Contact: Julie Navejar
kajam03@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences honor their own

The College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences at Texas A&M University-Kingsville held their spring banquet and distributed awards to students, faculty members and alumni.

This year’s Alumni Award was given to Lynn Drawe, who as director of the Welder Wildlife Foundation is responsible for overseeing its operations and 7,800-acre wildlife refuge in Sinton. He is best known for his research on plant community ecology, prescribed burning and wildlife-livestock interactions and native rangeland plants of South Texas. He has authored and co-authored numerous publications on the native vegetation of South Texas and consults on many of the region’s large and historic ranches.

Drawe has received numerous distinguishing awards from the Society for Range Management, Texas Tech University, Utah State University and is a Paul Harris Fellow of Rotary International. He also serves as adjunct faculty at A&M-Kingsville, Texas A&M University and Texas Tech University. He currently chairs the Texas Prescribed Burning Board, as appointed by Texas Commissioner of Agriculture. The board writes the rules for certification of prescribed burn managers in the state.

The Senior Teaching Award went to Dr. Steven Lukefahr, Regents Professor in animal and wildlife science, while the Junior Teaching Award was given to Dr. Bart Ballard, assistant professor and research scientist for Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute (CKWRI).

The Senior and Junior Research Awards went to Dr. Tim Fulbright and Dr. Michelle Garcia respectively. Fulbright is Regents Professor and Meadows Professor in Semiarid Land Ecology and Garcia is an assistant professor, both in animal and wildlife sciences.

Dr. Alfonso Ortega-Santos, assistant professor and research scientist for CKWRI, was given the Service Award. Sally Rojas, CKWRI secretary, received the Staff Excellence Award and Brandy Carr, college academic advisor, received the Dean’s Excellence Award.

Student award winners include:

Agronomy and Resource Sciences

Outstanding Student in Agriculture Business – Teri Schneider, a senior from Blessing
Outstanding Student in Agriculture Science – Carol Walsdorf, a senior from Los Fresnos
Outstanding Student in Plant and Soil Science – Justin Tanner, a senior from Ingleside
Outstanding Graduate Student in the Department of Agronomy and Resource Sciences – Clinton Richardson, a graduate student from Bishop
Outstanding Graduate Student from the Citrus Center – Naiqi Chen, a graduate student from China

Animal and Wildlife Sciences

Outstanding Student in Animal Science – Angeline Zamorano, a junior from Kingsville
Outstanding Student in Range and Wildlife Management – Regan Gage, a senior from Jarrell
Outstanding Graduate Student in Animal Science – Paige Williams, a graduate student from Friendswood
Outstanding Graduate Student in Range and Wildlife Management – Aaron Tjelmeland, a graduate student from Jessup, Iowa
Outstanding Doctoral Student in Range and Wildlife Management – John Lewis, a doctoral student from Cookeville, Tennessee

Human Sciences

Outstanding Student in Fashion and Interiors Merchandising – Rebecca Arevalo, a junior from Sugar Land
Outstanding Student in Food and Nutrition Science – Lisa Gonzales, a senior from Mathis
Outstanding Student in Human Development and Family Studies – Leslie M. Petros, a junior from Lake City
Outstanding Graduate Student in Human Sciences – Kathryn M. Santos, a graduate student from Uvalde

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014