Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Javelina cheer team places sixth in UCA Nationals in Orlando

KINGSVILLE - January 18, 2007

Contact: Julie Navejar
kajam03@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Cheer Team
Shown in the front row, from left, are Savannah Martinez,
Ozzie Mejorado, Britney Rodriguez, Alyssa Garza, Angela Saenz,
captain, Leslie Johnson, Priscilla Herrera, Lorissa Luna, Jeannette
Salinas, Shaina Mayberry and Angela Dominguez.
Shown in the back row, from left, are Rachel Blacklock,
JohnnieAnn Lopez, Savannah Garza, Jacqueline Sanford, Mya
Cardenas, Tracey Gonzalez, Victoria Morales and Starla Bruton.

KINGSVILLE (January 18, 2007) — The cheer team from Texas A&M University-Kingsville returned from Orlando with a sixth place trophy after competing in the University Cheerleaders Association National Collegiate Cheerleading Championships at Walt Disney World Resort.

The team of 20 women, led by cheer coach Katie Salinas, a graduate student from Lyford, competed in the all girls division II category, performing their routine Saturday, Jan. 13.

“These young ladies work hard and are well deserving of this recognition,” said Seferino “Nino” Mendietta, director of the Memorial Student Union Building and student activities. “They are a vital member of the university community who are always present for athletics and other university events.”

Members of the cheer team are Captain Angela Saenz, San Diego; Alyssa Garza, Rio Grande City; JohnnieAnn Lopez, Bishop; Ozzie Mejorado, Kingsville; Savannah Garza, Kingsville; Jacqueline Sanford, Kingsville; Leslie Johnson, Corpus Christi; Rachel Blacklock, Houston; Britney Rodriguez, Three Rivers; Tracey Gonzalez, Hebbronville; Jeannette Salinas, Hebbronville; Mya Cardenas, Kerrville; Victoria Morales, Corpus Christi; Lorissa Luna, Edinburg, Savannah Martinez, McAllen; Angela Dominguez, Edinburg; Priscilla Herrera, Beeville; Starla Bruton, Kingsville; and Shaine Mayberry, Kyle.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014