Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Strong showing from education leadership and counseling faculty, students in conferences and publications

KINGSVILLE - December 13, 2006

Contact: Jason Marton
jason.marton@tamuk.edu or 361-593-4143

KINGSVILLE (December 13, 2006) — The last few months have been productive and successful ones for the department of educational leadership and counseling at Texas A&M University-Kingsville.

Its faculty and students have been chosen to present at a number of conferences, while their research efforts will be represented in a series of different publications.

Dr. Jack A. Bradley, professor in the department, presented papers to the College Reading Association in Pittsburgh in October and the National Council of Teachers of English in Nashville in November. Still to come for Bradley are paper presentations at the Texas Council of Teachers of English Language Arts in Dallas in January and at a meeting of the Southern Early Childhood Association in Jacksonville, Fla. in March.

Dr. John R. Slate, professor and chair of the department, collaborated with Dr. Craig H. Jones of Arkansas State University on articles for the peer-reviewed University of Calgary International Electronic Journal of Leadership in Learning and the editor-reviewed University of South Carolina Essays in Education 16. He also collaborated with HeeGyoung Song of the University of Missouri-Kansas City for an article featured in volume 17 of Essays in Education. In other accomplishments, Slate will be presenting two papers at the 18th annual Conference within a Conference at the National Association of Secondary School Principals, happening February 23-25, 2007, in Las Vegas.

Slate also is among the educators and graduate students from A&M-Kingsville sharing research ideas and findings at the 30th annual Southwest Educational Research Association (SERA) Conference in San Antonio Feb. 7-10, 2007. The graduate students who co-authored papers to be presented include Andrea Cruz, Larae Elias, Angela Maria Gibson, Mary Hodge, Shao-Chieh Lu, Tina Marie McIntyre, Roseanne Elice Meyer, Lelia Salinas, Federico Solis Jr, Daniel Trevino Jr., Jinhao Wang and Karen Denise Wiesman. They worked on their papers with educational leadership and counseling faculty members Slate; assistant dean of the College of Education Dr. Richard Todd Braley; Paula Kenney-Wallace, director of the Learning Assistance Center and advisor for University College; and assistant professor Michelle Stallone-Brown. Other faculty whose papers were chosen for the conference are Dr. Fred T. Ponder, professor, and Dr. Carmen Tejeda-Delgado, assistant professor in the College of Education.

In addition to having two papers accepted for presentation at the SERA Conference,  Tejeda-Delgado assisted in the writing of the National Science Foundation GEAR UP Partnership Project grant involving A&M-Kingsville and Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, worth more than $1.5 million.

Graduate student Mary Hodge, presenting at the SERA Conference, was asked to be a co-presenter with Dr. Shirley Neeley of the Texas Commission of Education at the International Alliance for Learning 32nd International Conference, to be held in Austin Jan. 12, 2007. The topic of this general session is, “Accelerated Learning – Making a Difference in Education.”

A number of other faculty and students have been published. They include:

Kenney-Wallace, graduate students Shao-Chieh Lu and Judith Ellen Cox, and faculty member and department chair Slate, in the collaborative work, “Analysis of Texas’ and New Mexico’s Urban, Suburban and Rural 2-Year Community Colleges’ Mission Statement Themes,” published in the University of South Carolina’s Essays in Education 18.

Slate, along with graduate students and SERA paper collaborators Wang, Gibson, Salinas and Solis, wrote, “Mission Statement Differences of Two and Four Year Colleges: A Mixed Methods Study,” for the International Electronic Journal of Leadership in Learning.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014