Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Phi Epsilon Kappa fraternity installed

KINGSVILLE - April 03, 2006

Contact: Jason Marton
jason.marton@tamuk.edu or 361-593-4143


Photo L-R:  Stephanie Butler (Chapter President),
Amanda Jenkins (Chapter Historian), and Dr. Ray Cool,
Western Michigan University (Phi Epsilon Kappa National Council)

On Friday, March 24, the Zeta Mu Chapter of Phi Epsilon Kappa Fraternity was installed at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, in a ceremony held at Steinke Physical Education Center.

Dr. Ray Cool of Western Michigan University presided over the ceremony as the representative of the Fraternity’s National Council.

Phi Epsilon Kappa is a national co-educational professional fraternity for those engaged in or pursuing careers in physical education, health, recreation, dance, human performance, exercise science, sports medicine, and/or sports management.  The fraternity was established in 1913 and has installed over 130 college chapters nationwide since then. 

A&M-Kingsville joins Texas A&M University (Gamma Beta); Angelo State University (Epsilon Epsilon); Tarleton State University (Epsilon Theta); McMurry University (Epsilon Pi); and Hardin-Simmons University (Epsilon Upsilon) as the only Texas universities with active chapters of this fraternal organization. The chapter will replace the department of health & kinesiology’s historically successful majors club, the HKN Club, and continue its tradition of service to the university and community.

In addition to the chapter installation, the charter members of the Zeta Mu Chapter were also inducted. These charter members include undergraduates Stephanie Butler (president); Andres Galvan (vice president); Jessica Contreras (secretary); Amanda Jenkins (historian); Norma Solis (treasurer); Stephanie Bocanegra; Andrew Butler; Leslie Espinoza; Raynaldo Gonzales; Joseph Hernandez; Styles Jimerson; Lisa Lara; Lissa Pierce; Zachary Taylor; Robert Teague; Rene Valdez; and Robin Villegas.

Additionally, the following faculty, staff, and administrators were inducted as charter members: assistant professor Livia E. Diaz, health and kinesiology (Faculty Sponsor); Dr. Nestor Sherman, professor, health and kinesiology (Faculty Sponsor); Dr. Mike Daniel, professor and dean of the College of Education; Dr. Pam Doughty, assistant professor, health and kinesiology; Dr. Wirt Edwards, assistant professor, health and kinesiology; Dr. Chris Hearon, associate professor and chair, health and kinesiology; Dr. Pat Holmes, assistant professor, health and kinesiology, System Center-San Antonio; Randy Hughes, vice president of institutional advancement; Dr. Liette Ocker, assistant professor, health and kinesiology; and Pete Peterson, lecturer and head men’s basketball coach.

For more information on Phi Epsilon Kappa Fraternity, go to http://www.tamuk.edu/cehp/hkn/phi-epsilon-kappa.html.
Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014