Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Kingsville Noon Lions Club makes scholarship donation

KINGSVILLE - April 11, 2006

Contact: Julie Navejar
kajam03@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

David Christopher presenting the Lions Club Donation to Manuel Lujan

Members of the Kingsville Noon Lions Club continued to fund
their scholarship with a $2,000 donation to Texas A&M
University-Kingsville. Shown from left, are Dave Standish,
physical plant director; Dave Christopher, president of the
Noon Lions Club; Manuel Lujan, associate vice president
for enrollment management; Dr. Gilda Baeza Ortego, professor and
director of the Jernigan Library; and Crispin Trevino, associate
director of residence life. The donation will continue two
scholarships, one for incoming freshmen and the other for
sophomores. In both cases, however, the scholarship
recipient must be from Kleberg County.

Dave Christopher, president of the Kingsville Noon Lions Club, presented Manuel Lujan, associate vice president for enrollment management at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, with a check for $2,000 to be used for scholarships.

The first of the two scholarships is open to seniors graduating from a Kleberg County public high school who plan to attend A&M-Kingsville. The application requirements include a 3.0 or better grade point average on a 4.0 scale, a counselor or principal reference, a brief essay and a demonstrated financial need.

The second scholarship is open to students currently enrolled at A&M-Kingsville and are residents of Kleberg County, have completed their first 30 semester hours with a grade point average of 2.5 or better and demonstrate a financial need.

The scholarship initially provides for $500 for the first semester. However, if the student maintains a 2.5 grade point average and completes at least 12 credit hours, the university will match the scholarship for the second semester.

For more information, call 361-593-4060.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014