Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Graduating students receive ring as symbol of university years

KINGSVILLE - May 19, 2014

Contact: Julie Navejar
jule.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Graduating students from Texas A&M University-Kingsville who purchased an official school ring received them during a special ceremony held Sunday, May 4.

Graduates and alumni are able to purchase an official Texas A&M-Kingsville ring. Students have made the ring purchase and ceremony an annual tradition of the university. A committee of students, staff, alumni and faculty selected a company to design the ring. Its symbols reflect the university’s history and traditions.

The symbols include the school’s mascot, the javelina, because of its tenacity; mesquite and cactus, because they personify the students’ ability to survive and prosper; palm trees, because they are found all over campus; the Lone Star, because it symbolizes the state of Texas; and the College Hall clock tower, because it is the most recognized landmark on campus.

Students receiving their official school ring are listed, along with their hometown and major. All are from Texas except where otherwise noted. All are receiving bachelor’s degrees except where otherwise noted. 

Alice: James Holmes Dinn, biomedical sciences; Sara Elizondo, communication sciences and disorders; Valerie Garcia, kinesiology; Ruben M. Hinojosa, industrial management and technology; David Emiliano Soliz, chemical engineering 

Austin: Matthew Eric Mehlenbacher, range and wildlife management 

Banquete: Joshua Garcia, English 

Beeville: Elyssa Mann, wildlife management; Kristen Salinas, communication sciences and disorders 

Bishop: Aricela Alvarez, human sciences 

Bloomington: Dimitri DeLaRosa, agriculture science 

Brownsville: Delia Illyana Hernandez, human nutrition 

Centerville: Travis Trant, agribusiness 

Corpus Christi: Emma Alfaro, communication sciences and disorders; Lydia M. Ayala, communication sciences and disorders; Angela Garcia, communication sciences and disorders; Lori Ann Garcia, psychology; Michelle L. Garcia, communication sciences and disorders; Adina S. Gray, communication sciences and disorders; Juanita C. Hopkins, information systems; Phillip Winter, range and wildlife management; Diamond Lee Yocum, civil engineering; Marisol Zavala-Perez, communication sciences and disorders 

Donna: Erica Martinez, communication sciences and disorders; Orlando Ortega, electrical engineering 

Eagle Pass: David Izaguirre, industrial management and technology; Saul Martinez, mechanical engineering; Alexandra Olguin, human nutrition; Mario A. Villarreal, civil engineering

Edinburg: Samantha N. Garcia, English; Abigail Kotzur, psychology; David Montemayor, doctorate in educational leadership; Edna Lauren Trevino, human sciences 

Falls City: Elizabeth Stulting, animal science 

Freeport: Ana Guadalupe Cardona, environmental engineering 

George West: Taylor McCumber, range and wildlife management; Bradlee Umphres, agriculture science 

Granger: Pablo Castro, civil engineering 

Gregory: Alexandria Renea Willars, communications 

Harlingen: Christopher E. Acosta, mechanical engineering; Elizabeth Cain, interdisciplinary studies; Leslie Frakes, finance; Ruby Esmeralda Navarro, animal science; Jeremy Villarreal, management 

Hebbronville: Joanna M. Cantu, communication sciences and disorders; Loriana Perez, industrial management and technology; Gloria J. Salinas, geology; Annelle Trevino, kinesiology 

Houston: Alejandro Bazaldua, civil engineering; Alex Martin Fuentez, pre-engineering; Sebastian Gonzalez, chemical engineering 

Kingsville: Angelica Arredondo, range and wildlife management; Adolfo M. Castillo III, communications; Krysten S. Castillo, marketing; Landen Gulick, range and wildlife management; Michael Hall, range and wildlife management; Reba Howard, human sciences; Ashley A. Martinez, interdisciplinary studies; Erika Olivarez, criminology; Rose A. Prado, social work; Laura Salinas, master’s in business administration; Steven Williford, range and wildlife management 

La Grulla: Juan M. Garcia Jr., biology 

La Vernia: Chase James, agriculture science 

Laredo: Roberto L. Castro, chemical engineering; Magdalena Escamilla, architectural engineering;  Jesus Alejandro Fresnillo, civil engineering; Sergio Galindo, civil engineering; Tyler Garabay, criminology; Esteban Lopez, range and wildlife management; Ceasar Orlando Serna, geology

Lubbock: Jacob M. Gutierrez, fashion and interior merchandising

Mathis: Ethan E. Moreno, communication sciences and disorders 

McAllen: Erik Gonzalez, management; Chelsey Leal, communication sciences and disorders; Delilah Salinas, communication sciences and disorders 

Mercedes: Alexandrea N. Cuellar, human development and family studies; Gabrielle M. Sustaita, human nutrition 

Mission: Taylor Campos, communication sciences and disorders; Nayelli Chavero, communication sciences and disorders; Dariela Garza, criminology; Araceli Hernandez, information systems; Janeth Puente, communication sciences and disorders; Angela M. Villarreal, psychology; Brenda Zamora, communication sciences and disorders 

Needville: Dustin M. Temple, chemical engineering 

Orange Grove: Kassey Shae Parisher, agribusiness 

Palacios: Jeremy Hunt, agribusiness 

Port Lavaca: William D. Wiser, civil engineering 

Portland: Preston M. Neill, communications 

Poth: Benjamin L. Kollodziej, range and wildlife management; Michael L. Kollodziej Jr., agribusiness 

Raymondville: Lorena L. Hernandez, kinesiology; Miranda Perez, biomedical sciences 

Rio Grande City: Arnold Chapa, criminology; Crystal Garza, psychology; Alberto Eli Saenz, criminology; Alejandra Salinas, criminology

Rio Hondo: Kimberly Evette Garza, kinesiology 

Robstown: Monique Zamora, mathematics 

Rockne:  Chad Goertz, range and wildlife management 

San Antonio: Jacob Ayala, civil engineering; Raquel Rodriguez, criminology; Tiffany Russell, communication sciences and disorders; Fabian R. Sanchez, agriculture science 

San Benito: Jesus Quintero, communication sciences and disorders 

Santa Rosa: Davina Ann Vasquez, management 

Seadrift: Remington R. Maddux, civil engineering; Brandon S. Mitchell, range and wildlife management 

Seguin: Brandon Stoddard, range and wildlife management 

Skidmore: William A. Stridde, history

Somerset: Andrew A. Flores Jr., mechanical engineering 

Spring: Tiffany Custodio, electrical engineering

Taft: Michelle Olivarez, management

Thorndale: Alexandrea Jones, agribusiness

Tomball: Cody Garrett, industrial management and technology 

Tuleta: Christopher Stark, environmental engineering

Victoria: Victoria Haynes, range and wildlife management 

Wadsworth: Taylor Abshier, range and wildlife management; Christopher Sutherland, range and wildlife management 

Weslaco: “Jay” R. Aguayo, agriculture science; Jocelyn R. Gomez, communication sciences and disorders; Gustavo Guzman, agribusiness; Nancy Mireles, communication sciences and disorders 

West Point: Brandon Matthew Byler, range and wildlife management 

Zapata: Daniel Flores, civil engineering; Ignacio A. Flores, chemical engineering  


Kansas: James Austin Orr, range and wildlife management 

Massachusetts: Daniel Torres, history 

Canada: Jane Terina Patino, animal science

Mexico: Maria Castillo, sociology; Ramiro I. Mendez, chemical engineering


Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: June 09, 2014