Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Wildlife society students, faculty bring home awards from state meeting

KINGSVILLE - February 27, 2014

Contact: Julie Navejar
jule.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Students and faculty from Texas A&M University-Kingsville came home from the 50th Texas Chapter of The Wildlife Society conference with several awards.

Blaise Korzekwa from Gillett won first in the Best Graduate Student Poster competition with his paper, Effects of Density and Supplemental Feed on Sexual Segregation in White-tailed Deer.  Additional authors were Tim Fulbright, David Hewitt, Charles DeYoung, Kim Echols and Don Draeger.

Coming in second place in the same category was Breanne Carr of Richmond. Her poster was entitled, Physiological and Behavioral Responses of White-tailed Deer on Low-energy Diets. Additional authors were Hewitt, Randy DeYoung, Ryan Reitz and Don Frels.

The Best Undergraduate Student Poster was entered by Justin Plata of Spring Branch and Jess Alegria of Saginaw. It was entitled, Use of Human Hair as a Wildlife Deterrent: Fact or Fiction? Scott Henke was an additional author.

Tori Haynes of Victoria was chosen as the Outstanding Wildlife Student for the Texas A&M-Kingsville chapter.

The Texas A&M-Kingsville Plant ID Team One placed second in the competition, while Carr placed fourth in the individual contest. Other team members include Zachary Pearson of LaVernia; Anthony Jackson of Comfort; and Tyler Reagan of Goliad.

Members of Plant ID Team Two are Esteban Lopez from Laredo; Francisco Elias of Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico; Ramon Saenz III of Carrizo Springs; and Shannon Hall of Granbury.

The A&M-Kingsville Quiz Bowl Team placed third overall. Team members include Haynes of Alegria; Darron Crowley from Seadrift; Brandon Mitchell from Seadrift; and Landon Gulick of Big Foot.

Dr. Fidel Hernandez, associate professor and Alfred C. Glassell, Jr. Endowed Professor in Quail Research, won the award for Outstanding Book for Beef, Brush and Bobwhite, co-authored by Dr. Fred Guthery.

Dr. Randy DeYoung, assistant professor and research scientist, was elected vice president for the Texas Chapter. He will serve four consecutive one-year terms as vice president, president-elect, president and past president.


Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: February 27, 2014