Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville Jazz Band I Performs at Prestigious Texas Music Educators Association Convention

KINGSVILLE - February 14, 2013

Contact: Adriana Garza-Flores
adriana.garza@tamuk.edu or 361-593-4979

For the fourth time in nearly two decades, the award-winning Texas A&M University-Kingsville Jazz Band I performed during the opening night of the 2013 Texas Music Educators Association Clinic/Convention in San Antonio February 13.

            Under the direction of Dr. Paul Hageman, professor and chair of the A&M-Kingsville Department of Music, and James Warth, associate professor of music, and accompanied by former Count Basie Orchestra soloist Byron Stripling, Jazz Band I performed seven jazz  compositions, including pieces by Kenny Garret, Steve Wiest and Dizzy Gillespie.

            “It’s an honor to be selected to perform at TMEA. I am so proud of our students and all of the hard work they have accomplished while preparing for this performance,” Hageman said.

            Jazz Band I has performed at numerous jazz festivals and conventions, including the annual A&M-Kingsville Jazz Festival, the University of Texas Longhorn Jazz Festival, the Fiesta Jazz Festival and the Texas Jazz Festival.

            Begun in 1920 as the Texas Band Teachers Association, the TMEA is an organization of over 10,000 school music educators dedicated to promoting excellence in music education. TMEA is comprised of five divisions: band, orchestra, vocal, elementary and college. Based upon their performances at TMEA in 2003 and 2009, Jazz Band I was selected as the winner and runner-up of the College Big Band Category in the DownBeat Magazine 27th and 33rd Annual Student Music Awards.

            Student musicians in Jazz Band I include:

Jason Barrios, McAllen

Rolando Rodriguez, Edinburg

Jerry Espinoza, Laredo

Quentin Donalson, Weslaco

Edward Moncada, Harlingen

Joshua Castillo, Roma

Felix Cruz, Edinburg

Jonathan De La Cruz, Eagle Pass

Frank Segovia, Weslaco

Melinda Armadillo, Corpus Christi

Noe Garcia, Olmito

Jose Gomez, Rio Grande City

Maximiliano Monsivaiz, Harlingen

Carlos Sauceda, Brownsville

Christian Montemayor, Edinburg

Colin Minkler, Port Isabel

Raul Cisneros, Eagle Pass

Delle Vargas, Harlingen

Stephen Lopez, San Antonio

This page was last updated on: February 14, 2013