Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville's student wildlife society brings home eighth Chapter of the Year award

KINGSVILLE - April 20, 2012

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

The Student Chapter of the Wildlife Society from Texas A&M University-Kingsville is getting used to bringing home awards. At the Texas Chapter meeting this year, the group collected their eighth Student Chapter of the Year Award, a second place team award for the Plant Identification Team and numerous individual awards for students and faculty.

The Student Chapter of the Year award is the highest award that can be received at the state level.

In group competition, the Plant Identification Team placed second. Team members include Jorge Molina, a senior from Mexico; Meagan Lesak, a junior from Goliad; Zach Pearson, a sophomore from La Vernia; and William Fredrick, a junior from Houston. All are range and wildlife science majors. The coach is Chase R. Currie, a wildlife science doctoral candidate from Tilden.

Texas A&M-Kingsville graduate students took the top two places in the Graduate Poster competition. Eric Grahmann from Victoria placed first and Steven Goertz from Waco was second. In the Undergraduate Poster contest, Mindy Schwartz, a senior from Helotes, was second and Blake Martin, a senior from Hereford, placed third.

Grahmann also received the Dan Boone Memorial Scholarship and received the Best of Show award in the Photo and Art Contest. Taylor Garrison, a senior from Corpus Christi, received the Charly McTee Scholarship. Nick Kolbe, a junior from McQueeney, received the Outstanding Wildlife Student Award.

Dr. Charles De Young, professor emeritus and research scientist, received the Lifetime Achievement Award, and Dr. David Hewitt, associate professor and Stuart W. Stedman Chair for White-tailed Deer Research, received the Outstanding Book Award.

The Outstanding Scientific Article went to Dr. Stephen J. DeMaso, William E. Grant, Dr. Fidel Hernandez, Dr. Leonard A. Brennan, Nova J. Silvy, X. Ben Wu and Dr. Fred Bryant, for their article entitled A Population Model to Simulate Northern Bobwhite Population Dynamics in Southern Texas.

Hernandez, Brennan and Bryant are currently employed at the Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences. Hernandez is associate professor and Alfred C. Glassell, Jr. Endowed Professor in Quail Research; Brennan is the Endowed Chair for Quail Research; and Bryant is professor and Leroy G. Denman Jr. Endowed Director of Wildlife Research for the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute. DeMaso is a graduate of the university’s wildlife doctoral program who currently works for United States Fisheries and Wildlife Department in Louisiana.

Grant and Silvy work for the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Sciences; and Wu works at the Department of Ecosystem Science and Management, all at Texas A&M University.


This page was last updated on: April 20, 2012