Faculty Awards


Every year, the Center for Teaching Effectiveness (CTE) presents a Non-tenure Track Teaching Award and a General Education Teaching Award. Faculty and students are requested to nominate faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching. Nominees who wish to be considered for the awards submit their applications, which are evaluated by the CTE Advisory Committee. This year, there were several very deserving nominees in each category, all of who excel in the classroom and are passionate about their work. The CTE would like to congratulate all of the nominees - being nominated is an honor in itself.

The CTE is pleased to announce the following recipients of the 2018 Teaching Awards:

  • 2018 General Education Teaching Award:
    • Dr. Kenneth Price, Department of Language and Literature
  • 2018 Non-tenure Track Teaching Award:
    • Judith Bloomquist, Department of Health and Kinesiology

Center for Teaching Effectiveness Travel Awards

The Center for Teaching Effectiveness (CTE) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017-2018 CTE Faculty Travel Awards of $500 each:

Fall 2017

  • Dr. Amber Shipherd, Department of Health and Kinesiology, College of Education and Human Performance
    • Title of Presentations: "Significant Learning: Strategies for Engaged Learning and Teaching in the Sport and Exercised Psychology Classroom"; Teaching SIG Workshop: How to Use Field Based Learning to Engage Students in Sport Psychology Principles and Practices"; and "Five Slides in Five Minutes: Teaching Sport, Exercise, and Performance Psychology Topics through Reflective Activities" to be presented at the Association for Applied Sport Psychology Conference in Orlando, Florida.
  • Dr. Norma Guzman, Department of Teaching and Bilingual Education, College of Education and Human Performance
    • Title of Presentation: "Language Maintenance and Shift: A Focus on Community Language Attitudes", to be presented at the Texas Association for Bilingual Education Conference in McAllen, Texas. 

Spring 2018

  • Dr. Craig Meyer, Department of Language and Literature, College of Arts and Sciences
    • Title of Presentation: "Politics, Language, and Social Justice," Conference on College Composition and Communication, Kansas City, Missouri.
  • Dr. Ari Sherris, Department of Teacher and Bilingual Education, College of Education and Human Performance
    • Title of Presentation: "Formulaic Language in Salish-English Bilingual Outreach at the Nkwsum Salish Immersion School on the Flathead Indian Reservation in Montana, USA," American Association for Applied Linguistics Conference, Chicago, Illinois.


  • Dr. Veronica Salinas-Lopez, Department of Music, College of Arts and Sciences
    • Title of Presentation: "Experimental Music in Fixed Media Compositions", presented at the American Viola Society Festival in Los Angeles, California, June 13-16, 2018.

Congratulations to all recipients! For more information about CTE activities or to make a suggestion, please contact the Interim Director, Dr. Brenda Melendy, at brenda.melendy@tamuk.edu or X-3609. 

Spring 2019 Travel Award Application

This page was last updated on: November 29, 2018