The Department of Physics offers five scholarships:


Scholarship Application Packet

Requirements for all students

  • Student must be a U.S. citizen

  • Student must be enroll or be enrolled full time (12 credit hours) as a Physics major at TAMUK.

Incoming freshmen requirements:

  • Minimum GPA 3.0 out of 4.0 from an accredited high school.

  • A combined SAT score of 1200 with a mathematics score of 600 or a combined ACT score of 24 with a mathematics score of 27.

  • Enrolled as a Physics major at TAMUK for a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Transfer student requirements:

  • Be transferring from an accredited junior college, community college or university.

  • A minimum GPA of 3.0 from a maximum of 4.0.

  • Enrolled as a physics major at TAMUK in a minimum of 12 credit hours beginning in the fall semester of the award year.

Each student must have demonstrated exceptional promise, strong leadership, community involvement and perseverance.


  • Scholarship Application Packet

  • Official transcript of credits

  • Two letters of recommendation
    Typically, the letters of recommendation should come from a high school teacher, a hometown businessman, a minister, or a faculty member from Texas A&M University - Kingsville who is not a member of the scholarship selection committee. At least one letter must be from someone outside of the Physics program.


  • Applications for spring semester awards are due no later than the proceeding November 1.

  • Applications for fall semester awards are due no later than the proceeding April 1.


The award of this scholarship shall be made by a selection committee composed of two senior members of the Physics department faculty. The applicant shall appear before this committee in person at a properly designated time and defend his application for the scholarship. He or she shall answer such questions as the selection committee shall ask.


None of the scholarships automatically renew each semester. In order to renew these scholarships for a successive semester, the student must reapply.

This page was last updated on: August 15, 2016