Texas A&M University-Kingsville


Javelina Cup Mathematics Competition 2014

Saturday, December 13, 2014

No Registration Fee!

Individual and team competition

Registration deadline November 30, 2014


   8:30 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.                              Arrival and Check-in                        Rhode Hall 308
   9:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.                            Math Competition                             Rhode Hall 308
   11:30 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.                          Lunch / Math Games                        Rhode Hall 333
   12:45 p.m.                                               Final Assembly / Awards                  Rhode Hall 333

The competition test will be delivered through the Assessment and LEarning in Knowledge Spaces
(ALEKS) program, an artificially intelligent computerized learning system.  Once students register
for the event, they will be able to use the program to practice up to the competition date in
December.  Students will get periodic assessments to let them know how they are doing. 
Competition winners will be determined by the highest scores on a comprehensive assessment
scheduled for the competition date.


Students who completed Algebra I last school year are eligible to participate.

(Note:  Students who are enrolled in Algebra I this school year are also
eligible, but will be competing with students who have already completed Algebra I.)


Comprised of four members from the same campus who are competing individually;
one team per campus.


$1500, $1000, and $500 Texas A&M University-Kingsville scholarships for first, second, and third
place individual finishers respectively

$25 ITune gift cards to the top 25 individual finishers

First, second, and third place team trophies

Certificates to all participants

Registration Process

  1. Teachers:  register your students through the Marketplace Mall
  2. Have students follow instructions to enroll in the ALEKS program online
  3. Students allow 3 business days to receive ALEKS enrollment authorization
  4. Students begin working on ALEKS!

This page was last updated on: November 21, 2014