Texas A&M University-Kingsville



KINGSVILLE (April 19, 2013) — For the third year in a row, the President’s Legacy Ball set new standards in both attendance and sponsorships. More than 400 people attended the highly anticipated gala, which served to recognize nine major contributors to the university with induction into its Legacy Society. The honorees for the evening were American School of Gas Measurement Technology; Friends of Javelina Engineering Joe Cantu, Roy Galvan and Robby Lira; Joan and Herb Kelleher Charitable Foundation; Ralph Clark Russell and Family; San Chicago Camp; Schlumberger; South Texas Quail Coalition; Richard Wallrath Educational Foundation; and Pam and Ben F. Wilson III.

The event has seen escalating totals in attendance since President Steven Tallant, Ph.D. assumed leadership of the university. In 2009, his first year at the university, the record attendance was established at 296. In 2011, attendance reached 325, followed by 380 in 2012, and shattered by this year’s show of support. This year’s event sold out more than a month in advance.

Tallant gave the opening remarks and conducted the ceremonial induction of the honorees.

This year’s honorees have demonstrated long-standing support to the university. They were as follows:

  • American School of Gas Measurement Technology was acknowledged for its support of Professor Emeritus and former chair of the Wayne H. King Department of Chemical and Natural Gas Engineering C. Van Mooney, through the C. Van Mooney Memorial Scholarship.
  • Friends of Javelina Engineering Joe Cantu, Roy Galvan and Robby Lira have supported the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering through the Javelina Engineering Golf Tournament.
  • Joan and Herb Kelleher Charitable Foundation has been a supporter of the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute’s South Texas Native Plant Restoration Program.
  • Ralph Clark Russell and Family have offered support to both the College of Business Administration and the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • San Chicago Camp of Armstrong, Texas is a supporter of the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute and the King Ranch Institute for Ranch Management.
  • Schlumberger provides support to the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering.
  • South Texas Quail Coalition is a supporter of the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute.
  • Richard Wallrath Educational Foundation awards scholarships annually to high school students enrolled in Texas universities.
  • Pam and Ben F. Wilson III donated the building that once housed Wilson’s True Value Hardware to the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering’s Javelina Innovation Lab, in memory of Florence C. and Ben F. Wilson Jr.

The evening also included a gourmet meal, which was served before the celebration turned to musical entertainment and dancing. A silent auction was also held.

The event included thirty sponsorship tables. Among the elite level sponsors were Gold Legacy Sponsors Kleberg Bank and Riviera Telephone Company. Sponsors at the Silver Legacy Patron level were W.H. and Joyce Bynum; Coldwell Banker Homestead Properties, Inc.; Division of Fiscal and Student Affairs; First Community Bank; HEB; King Ranch, Inc.; Col. (Ret.) Edward J. Preston Jr.; and Billy and Debbie Tiffee.

The President’s Legacy Ball is annually held in the Memorial Student Union Building Ballrooms and hosted by the university’s President and First Lady, Dr. Steven Tallant and wife, Karen. Each year the event recognizes individuals, families, corporations and foundations whose cumulative donations to the university total more than $100,000 with induction into the university’s Legacy Society. Honorees receive a plaque that is unveiled at the event and later hung on the University Legacy Wall of Honor. Proceeds from the event go towards student scholarships through the University Scholarship Endowment. Prior to this year’s event, more than $300,000 had been raised for scholarships through the event. The total proceeds for this year’s event were still being tabulated at the time of this release, but it was believed to be the most successful fundraiser in the event’s ten-year history.

The décor, invitations and other printed materials for this year’s President’s Legacy Ball were inspired by a painting entitled Make Me Happy, by local artist Dolores Price.

First Lady Karen Tallant chairs the President’s Legacy Ball planning committee. The committee is composed of members of the Kingsville community as well as faculty and staff from the university. The other members of the steering committee include: Evelyn Alexander, Judy Allen, Glenda Best, Janis Brock, Judy Colston, Ricki Cunningham, Mary Cusack, Patricia Cypher, Jane Dodds, Claudia Edgerton, Darlynn Fugate, Melinda Garza, Ginger Gines, George Henkel, Goldia Hubert, Belinda Hughes, Marchia Hutchison, Abby Lozano, Sandra Messbarger, Joan Nuesch, Dolores Price, Graciela N. Salazar, Darlene Scott, Jean Claire Turcotte, Peggy Westbrook, Sylvia Woelfel, Charis Yaklin and Lynn Yaklin.

Click for Photos of 2013 Presidents Legacy Ball

This page was last updated on: January 27, 2014