Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Communication students win TIPA awards

KINGSVILLE - April 04, 2011

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Students from the communications and theatre arts department at Texas A&M University-Kingsville came home from the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention and Workshop with 23 awards spanning all disciplines judged: journalism, radio-TV, advertising, film and online. They placed in the top five in the print and television competitions against student teams from 60 Texas colleges and universities. Overall they placed sixth out of 22 Division III schools.

“We are very pleased,” said Dr. Manuel Flores, chair of the communications and theatre arts department. “We won awards in every discipline. That reinforces our converging media project launched last year which emphasizes students must be trained in several communications disciplines, from print to online, radio-TV, advertising, public relations and social media.”

The highlight of this year’s competition for Texas A&M-Kingsville was the first place awards in TV Documentary and TV Production. A 30-minute documentary on Texas communications legend Cactus Pryor by David Brott, a senior from Kingsville, and Greg Stelfox, a senior from Corpus Christi, won first place in a competition from among 68 entries.

“The Cactus Pryor piece was outstanding,” the judges’ critique said. “The story blended together so well. The video clips selected were excellent. The narrator added tremendously to the piece.”

Seniors Zachary Houston of San Angelo; Allen Collier of Garden Ridge; and Dondi Cooks of Dallas won first place in TV Production for their piece on the Iwo Jima Memorial in Harlingen entitled Raising the Flag over Harlingen. They were part of the communications 4391 documentary film class taught by Dr. Carl Saltarelli.

 “We launched our documentary film class and project three years ago under Dr. Saltarelli,” Flores said. “The results are evident. We can do this and we can do it better than anyone in Texas.”

Hector Castelltort, a senior from Mexico, received first place awards in Spanish on-site competition and Spanish news writing for a story on the death of Javelina Distinguished Alumnus Carlos Guerra and an honorable mention for in-depth reporting on the flying tortilla issue at football games.

Other first place awards went to Jaime Gonzalez, a senior from Kingsville, for his sports column, and to the staff of The South Texan for their Back-to-School issue.

Other award winners included:

Alicia Villarreal, a senior from Riviera; Melinda Sepulveda, a senior from Kingsville; and Billy Garza, a senior from Brownsville, placed third for their TV documentary A Breed Apart-The Tejano Vaquero;

Angela Palacios, a senior from Corpus Christi, and Claudia Garcia, a senior from Weslaco, placed third in Feature Page Design for All in the name…;

Mark Molina, a junior from Santa Rosa, third place in Sports News Story for Second Chance;

Garcia, third place for her critical review of Box Car;

The South Texan Staff, third place for their editorial on Arizona Law;

Joshua Cavazos, a freshman from Rio Grande City, third place in On-Site Radio Sports;

Emilio Flores, a freshman from Sutherland Springs, third place in On-Site Public Relations;

Noe Longoria, a senior from Kingsville, honorable mention for his online blog on Javelina Pride;

Garcia, honorable mention in General Magazine Story Package for The Reel Deal;

Palacios and Jennifer Garcia, a senior from Ricardo, honorable mention in Ad Design for When Hogs Fly;

Amanda Marcum, a senior from Corpus Christi, honorable mention in Headline Writing for Biggest Loser;

Paul Camarillo, a senior general business major from Kingsville, honorable mention in Illustration, for Change-Dr. Tallant;

Arturo Leal, a senior from Zapata, honorable mention in Sports Feature Photo for Playoff Time;

Molina, an honorable mention in Sports Column for Good Coaching;

Molina, an honorable mention in Sports Page Design for Nov. 23; and

Jose Sanchez, a freshman from Edinburg, honorable mention in On-Site TV News.


Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 17, 2014