Texas A&M University-Kingsville

New Inductees for Legacy Wall of Honor Named for 2009

KINGSVILLE - April 02, 2009


Dr. Steven and Karen Tallant, president and first lady of Texas A&M University-Kingsville, will host the President’s Legacy Ball Saturday, April 4,  in the Grand Ballrooms of the Memorial Student Union Building. This year 10 new names will be inducted for the Legacy Wall of Honor.

Inductees include

ExxonMobil Foundation for supporting of the King Ranch Institute for Ranch Management (KRIRM);
The Pat and Tom Frost Foundation for supporting of Rio Grande Turkey Research and the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife Research Institute (CKWRI);
The Greater Texas Foundation for establishing the Removing Educational Barriers, Greater Texas Foundation Generation Proud and Rising to the Challenge Scholarship programs;
Mesteña Inc. for establishing the Mesteña Inc. Endowed Scholarship Fund and for supporting quail research through the CKWRI;
George Anne Muckleroy and the late Merle Muckleroy, founders of the Merle and George Anne Muckleroy Endowed Scholarship, and for supporting Javelina Athletics, President’s Circle and Javelina Alumni Association;
Quail Unlimited—South Texas Chapter for supporting Quail Covey Research and the CKWRI;
J.E. and Evelyn Turner Estate for establishing the J.E. and Evelyn Turner Endowed Scholarship and support of Javelina Athletics, President’s Circle, Friends of the John E. Conner Museum and Javelina Alumni Association;
Verano Land Group for supporting campus expansion at Texas A&M University-Kingsville System Center-San Antonio;
Jim and Alinda Wikert for supporting CKWRI and the KRIRM; and
Frank and Mary Yturria for establishing the Frank Daniel Yturria Endowed Chair in Wildcat Studies and support of CKWRI and wildcat conservation.

This year’s ball has several sponsors including

Gold Legacy Ball Patron
Kleberg Bank

Silver Legacy Ball Patron
First Community Bank
Mr. and Mrs. W.H. and Joyce Bynum
Coldwell Banker-Homestead Properties
Javelina Alumni Association
King Ranch Inc.

Legacy Ball Patrons
College of Business Administration/College of Education
Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences
Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering
Mrs. Aurora Garza and Friends
King Ranch Institute for Ranch Management
Mr. and Mrs. Dick and Sandra Messbarger and Friends
Mrs. George Anne Muckleroy
Mrs. Jean Claire Turcotte

This year’s ball will begin at 6:30 p.m. with dinner served at 7:30 p.m. A silent auction will be held from 6:30 to 9 p.m. and dancing will begin at 8 p.m. and continue until midnight. Individual tickets are $125. For ticket information, call 361-593-4191.

The art for this year’s legacy ball was provided by local artist Dolores Price. Her piece, a watercolor entitled The Beauty of Iris, graces the invitations and other printed materials. In addition, a box of 12 note cards featuring this year’s art will be available for sale at the ball.

The Glynn Garcia Orchestra will provide music for dancing or just listening. The 19-piece orchestra draws from the rich musical talent found throughout the Coastal Bend and has a repertoire that covers everything from big band standards to country tunes to pop-rock hits. The group has musicians from the music faculties of the area's universities, colleges and high schools as well as professional musicians. The orchestra features three vocalists, Chrys Page, Anthony Perez and Garcia.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012