Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Health Science Center President Dickey is commencement speaker

KINGSVILLE - July 19, 2006

Contact: Julie Navejar
kajam03@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

University honors first graduates of environmental engineering doctorate and ranch management programs


More than 350 students will cross the stage at 4 p.m. Friday, Aug. 4, at Texas A&M University-Kingsville’s Steinke Physical Education Center during summer commencement.

Among the prospective graduates, 191 are bachelor’s candidates and 149 are scheduled to receive master’s degrees. There are 16 doctoral candidates.

The university will note two “firsts” during this commencement: The Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering will celebrate the first doctoral degree in environmental engineering when it is awarded to Muthu Kumar K. Ponnusamy of Erode, India; and the King Ranch Institute of Ranch Management in the College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences will award degrees to the first graduates of its masters program. Matt L. Etheredge from Abilene and David Lee Genho of Florida will receive these degrees.

Dr. Nancy Dickey, president of the Texas A&M Health Science Center and vice chancellor for health affairs for The Texas A&M University System, will be the commencement speaker. Dr. Kay Clayton, A&M-Kingsville provost, will preside over the ceremony.

Thomas Bingham, president of the Student Government Association, will present the Distinguished Student Awards. Cyn Olvera, president of the Javelina Alumni Association, will present the official university ring to one graduate, who is selected based on leadership, campus and community service, letter of recommendation, challenges while in school and honors and awards.

Lt. Col. James A. Troia, military science assistant professor, will commission one ROTC cadet – David Rios Jr.

Dickey has served as interim dean of the College of Medicine, is the founding program director of the Family Medicine Residency of the Brazos Valley and is a professor of family and community medicine at the Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine.

She was the first woman ever to be elected president of the American Medical Association. Dickey is the recipient of numerous awards including five honorary doctorate degrees in both science and law.

The Health Science Center includes the College of Medicine, the Baylor College of Dentistry, the School of Rural Public Health, the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, the Institute for Biosciences and Technology and most recently, the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy, the only professional school in South Texas and located on the A&M-Kingsville campus.

Besides being a family physician, she serves on numerous committees, both locally and nationally, and writes for several medical and health policy journals. Dickey is a member of the Board of Trustees for the Scott and White Foundation and the College Station Medical Center Hospital.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014