For Financial Aid information while participating in a study abroad program, please visit the website of the Office of Student Financial Aid.

The Study Abroad Scholarship is available to all undergraduate and graduate students who participate in a TAMUK study abroad program in the coming academic year and the award amount changes depending on number of students applied and on the amount of available money.  The normal range is from a few hundred to $2,000.00.

To qualify for Tamuk Study Abroad Scholarship, one must:

  • file Form OISP-200, Study Abroad Scholarship Application before deadline
  • have attended at least one semester at Tamuk
  • not have an outstanding balance of $300 or more
  • not have a current scholarship/tuition waiver
  • not have been a recipient of the Study Abroad Scholarship in prior years
  • not be currently enrolled in thesis or project
  • not be enrolled in thesis or project when scholarship is distributed

When applying, please submit the application in person to the Office of International Studies & Programs (OISP), located in Cousins Hall Room 113-A. 

To qualify for the Study Abroad scholarship, an undergraduate student must have a minimum TAMUK GPA of 2.5 and a Graduate student must have a minimum TAMUK GPA of 3.0. You must have completed at least one semester at TAMUK prior to application. 

The following documents MUST be submitted in person along with the completed application:

  • Current TAMUK transcript (This can be printed out through Blue & Gold. Official transcripts are not required.)
  • Personal statement
  • 2 letters of reference from TAMUK faculty/staff

Other Scholarship Opportunities

Aside from Tamuk Study Abroad Scholarship, we encourage all our students to apply for the following scholarships.

  • Benjamin A. Gilman:  The U.S. Department of State's Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program is pleased to announce that the online application is open for students participating in credit-bearing study abroad programs and international internships during the spring 2016 and summer 2016 terms.  The Gilman Program aims to diversify the kinds of students who study and intern abroad and the countries and regions where they go.  All eligible applicants are encouraged to apply.  For more information about the Gilman Scholarship, webinar schedules, and other helpful resources, including subscription to Gilman Advisor Newsletters, please visit the Gilman website at

This page was last updated on: December 2, 2016