Tuition Rebates (for Undergraduate Students)
Senate Bill 1907, 75th Legislature, Texas Education Code Sec. 54.0065.
The state of Texas is providing financial incentives for students who complete their undergraduate degree attempting no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required for the degree. To be eligible for rebates under this program, students must meet the following conditions:
- They must have enrolled for the first time in an institution of higher education in the fall 1997 semester or later,
- They must be requesting a rebate for coursework related to a first baccalaureate degree received from a Texas public university,
- They must have been a resident of Texas, must have attempted all coursework at a Texas public institution of higher education, and have been entitled to pay resident tuition at all times while pursuing the degree,
- They must have been enrolled for the first time in fall 2005 or later, graduated within four calendar years for a four-year degree or within five calendar years for a five-year degree if the degree was in architecture, engineering, or any other program determined by the Board to require more than four years to complete, and
- They must have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree under the catalog under which they were graduated. Hours attempted include transfer credit, course credit earned exclusively by examination, courses that are dropped after the official census date, optional internship and cooperative education courses, and repeated courses. Courses dropped for reasons that are determined by the institution to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.
If a student concurrently earning a baccalaureate degree and a Texas teaching certificate, and applies for the $1,000 tuition rebate, the required teacher education courses shall not be counted to the extent that they are over and above the free electives allowed in the baccalaureate degree program.
Responsibilities of Students:
- Students desiring to qualify for tuition rebates are responsible for complying with all university rules and regulations related to administration of the program.
- Students desiring to qualify for tuition rebates are solely responsible for enrolling only in courses that will qualify them for rebates.
- A student who has transferred from another public or independent institution of higher education is responsible for providing to the institution awarding the degree official transcripts from all institutions attended by the student.
- Students must apply for rebates prior to receiving their baccalaureate degree on forms provided by the institution and must keep the institution apprised of their addresses at least 60 days after their graduation date.
The rebate for eligible students is a maximum of $1,000. To apply for the rebate, please download the application form here>>> and submit it to your academic dean.
This page was last updated on: January 4, 2016