Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes - April 3, 2018

Senators Present: Polly Allred, Ambrose Anoruo, María Ayala-Schueneman, Santa Barraza, Apruba Battacharya, Marion Blake, Rudolf Bohm, Jieming Chen, David Cutton, Ulan Dakeev, Horacio Duarte, LaVonne Fedynich, Christine Fiestas, Karen Furgerson, Michelle Garcia, Kristopher Garza, Jeffrey Glick, Brent Hedquist, Christopher Hearon, Elizabeth Janzen, Joseph Jones, Dongnyoung Kim, Larry Knight, Veronica Lopez, Tanner Machado, Lana McDonnell, Brian Menaker, Craig A. Meyer, Richard Miller, Patrick Mills, Tim Oblad, Christine Radcliff, Jack Shorter, Tushar Sinha, Marsha Sowell, Haibin Su, Benjamin Turner, Amit Verma, Fulden Wissinger, Pamela Wright, Subbarao Yelisetti, Hong Zhou

Senators Absent: Natasha Bell, Ann Fronckowiak, Kai Jin, Patrick Mills, Barbara Oates, Patricia Polastri, Joseph Sai, Elda E. Sanchez, Ari Sherris, Randall Williams, Nuri Yilmaz,

I. Call to Order and Quorum Call.

At 3:33 p.m. President Miller asked the parliamentarian, Polly Allred, if enough members were present for a quorum. Senator Allred replied in the affirmative.

II. Approval of Minutes from February 2018 Faculty Senate Meeting. President Miller asked for approval of the previous meeting minutes. Minutes were approved.

III. Presentations. -

a. Dr. Allen Rasmussen, Provost, was not able to attend.

IV. Report of Officers

- **a.** Senate President Miller announced that the Faculty Lecture was on April 10, at 6:00 p.m. in Peacock Auditorium.
- **b.** Senate President Miller announced that he was receiving Nominations for the Distinguished Service Award until the end of the Senate meeting and that the outgoing Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate would review nominations and elect from those nominations the Distinguished Service Award recipient.

V. Old Business:

- a. Overload/Banked Hour After a brief discussion on the compensation for teaching overloads the proposal was passed.
- **b.** Summer Salary Caps After a brief discussion on the compensation for teaching overloads the proposal was passed.
- c. Compression and Gender Equity after a brief discussion the Senate voted to forward the report to the University Administration for awareness and consideration and to provide data of those who need to be notified of specific faculty with perhaps salary compression issues and gender inequity.
- d. SRI Revision It was reported that the testing for the third time followed Senate's recommendation. Selected potential classes with 2 sections, same person, same type of class. Chairs were involved in the selection. OIR was sent one section of class of two. Hopefully this will be successful.
- **e.** Team Teaching recommendation was passed with a friendly amendment that it will be provided to no more than two instructors.
- **f.** Academic Regalia Policy after a brief discussion it was passed and it will take effect in Spring Commencement.
- g. Distinguished Senator Award Faculty Senate Executive Committee (2017-2018) will meet after Senate meeting to select nominee.

VI. Standing Committee Reports

- **a.** Resolution and By-laws/Handbook Committee Will pass report to incoming Committee.
- **b. Committee on Committees** No report.

c. Election Committee – Missing Art & Communication Department representative but will be counting votes tomorrow.

VII. Reports from Committees Reporting to the Senate

- a. Administrator Evaluation Committee Working on evaluation.
- **b.** Annual Faculty Lecture Committee Lecture will be at 6 p.m., Tuesday, April 10th.
- c. Faculty Evaluation Committee No report.
- d. .University Appeals Committee Working.
- e. Faculty Benefits Committee No report.
- f. Emeriti Faculty Selection Committee No report.

Faculty Senate President Richard Miller passed the gavel to incoming President, Elizabeth Janzen, at 4:13 p.m.

VIII. New Business

a. Election of Executive & Ethics Committee

President Elect: Ambrose Anoruo Secretary: Christine Radcliff

Parliamentarian: Polly Allred

College of Agriculture Rep.: Tanner Machado College of Arts & Sciences Rep.: Jeffrey Glick College of Business Rep.: Jack Shorter

College of Business Rep.: Jack Shorter College of Education Rep.: Marsha Sowell College of Engineering Rep.: Amit Verma

b. Election of Election Committee

College of Agriculture Rep.: Benjamin Turner College of Arts & Sciences Rep.: Brent Hedquist College of Business Rep.: Hans Schumann College of Education Rep.: Marsha Sowell College of Engineering Rep.: Patrick Mills

c. Election of Resolutions and By-laws Committee

College of Agriculture Rep.: Michelle Garcia

College of Arts & Sciences Rep.: Rudolph Bohm

College of Business Rep.: Dongnyoung Kim

College of Education Rep.: LaVonne Fedynich

College of Engineering Rep.: Amit Verma

Library Rep.: Christine Radcliff

d. Election of Committee on Committees

College of Agriculture Rep.: Timothy Oblad

College of Arts & Sciences Rep.: Christina Fiestas

College of Business Rep.: Jack Shorter College of Education Rep.: Ari Sherris College of Engineering Rep.: Tushar Sinha

Library Rep.: Christine Radcliff

e.

IX. Announcements.

X. Adjournment. At 5:00 p.m., a motion to adjourn was made and passed.

Respectfully submitted,

María de Jesús Ayala-Schueneman Faculty Senate Secretary, 2017-2018 Christine Radcliff Faculty Senate Secretary, 2018-2019