# Texas A&M University-Kingsville Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Tuesday, November 4, 2014

**Present:** Ian Aebel, Ambrose Anoruo, Jody Briones, Edward Butterworth, John Chisholm, Farzad Deyhim, Oscar Diaz, M. Catherine (Cathy) Downs, James Glusing, Elizabeth Janzen, Lorraine Killion, Rajan Lamichhane, Todd Lucas, Gerri Maxwell, Lisa McNair, Patricia Polatri, Emily Ralph, Joseph Sai, Maria de Jesus Ayala-Schueneman, Nestor Sherman, Jacki Thomas, George Vargas, Fulden Wissinger, & Monica Wong-Ratcliff

**Absent:** Polly Allred (2), Bart Ballard (1), Valerie Bartelt (1), Apuruba (Apu) Bhattacharya (2), Daniel Burt (1), Ruth Chatelain-Jardon (1), Yousri Elkassabgi (1), Tim Fulbright (3), Stan Hodges (1), Kendra Huff (1), Kuo-Jen Liao (2), Brenda Melendy (2), Randy Powell (2), Nestor Rodriguez (3), Amit Verma (1), Rongdong Wang (1)

### I. Call to Order: 3:33 pm

a. Quorum Call - Quorum Present

**II. Approval of Minutes**, October 7, 2014. Motion: Senator Cathy Downs. Second: Senator John Chisholm. Approved by voice vote.

#### III. Presentations

- a. Dr. Rex Gandy, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs
  - i. Provost Gandy's presentation was not scheduled on the agenda.
  - ii. President Tallant made the announcement of a 4% merit pay raise effective January 1, 2015.
- iii. TAMUK was the second university in Texas that had the highest growth in enrollment. We would have another raise in September 2015.
- iv. Because of the increase in enrollment, President Tallant had approved to hire 12 new faculty members.
- v. As for the SRI, a committee was formed to review the instrument. Written comments were separate from the instrument.
- vi. Provost Gandy proposed that effective Spring 2015, all department chairs and personnel evaluating the faculty member in regard to continuation and Tenure & Promotion (T&P) recommendations will see the SRI comments.
- vii. How were the comments used? We looked at the numbers and read the comments. Then, we could see the whole package for evaluation.

- viii. There were no guidelines for the comments to be digested in the T&P application. Comments could be quantified. But they could provide the whole package.
  - ix. Some faculty would include the edited version of the comments in their portfolio.
  - x. Provost Gandy encouraged the administrators to read all of the comments. There were highly positive and/or highly negative. However, the average was the most important.
  - xi. President Tallant would definitely lean to send all of the comments to chairs and deans.
- xii. However, voting in the Senate would be counted on.

# **IV. Report of Officers**

- a. Senate President George Vargas: Meeting(s) with President Tallant and Provost Gandy
- i. There would be a 4% merit pay raise in Spring 2015 and another raise in September 2015
- b. Senate President George Vargas was contacted by Dr. Shannon Baker and Dr. Linda Challoo to make a short presentation to the department chairs in the Administrative Workshop (November 11, 2014; 3-5 pm; Kleberg Wildlife Center)
- i. The presentation was to give an update about the Faculty Senate to the chairs.
- ii. President Vargas asked the senators to send him comments regarding SRIs, annual reviews, etc.

#### V. Old Business

- a. Senate Review of SRI
- 1. Discussion of SRI
- i. After the presentation of Provost Gandy, the Senate had a discussion about the SRI.
- ii. Several comments were made, including: SRI should be closed on or before the dead day; if a faculty had problems in teaching, the numbers on the SRI should be enough to reflect the weaknesses.
- iii. Senate President Vargas asked the senators to take Provost's statement regarding the SRI Approach to their departments
- 2. Committee formed to review SRI
- i. Senate President Vargas was directed by President Tallant and Provost Gandy to form a committee to review the current SRI questions
- ii. The committee members would be contacted by Dr. Duane Gardiner
- iii. Members: John Chisholm, Nestor Sherman, Jacki Thomas, Lisa McNair, Ruth Chatelain-Jardon and Bart Ballard
- iv. Michelle Vela is the representative of department chairs

#### **VI. New Business**

- a. Honorary Degree Nomination: Dr. Lauro F. Cavazos
- i. The Honorary Awards Committee, chaired by Dr. Thomas McGehee, asked the Senate to approve the nomination
- ii. Motion: Senator John Chisolm moved to approve the nomination. Second: Edward Butterworth. Approved by voice vote.

#### VII. Announcements

- a. New Senators
- i. We had two new senators: Senator Rajan Lamichhane from College of Arts & Sciences and Senator Yousri Elkassabgi from Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering.
- b. PricewaterhouseCoopers Report
- i. Senate President George Vargas asked Abigail De La Mora to send the link of the report on TAMU-College Station to all senators.
- ii. The report on TAMUK was 4 weeks late.
- c. Campus Safety
- i. Senator Emily Ralph reported that the campus safety committee was trying to create a title of the committee and develop a general mission statement.

## VIII. Adjournment - 4:20 pm

Next meeting: Tuesday December 2, 2014