# Texas A&M University-Kingsville Minutes of Faculty Senate Meeting Tuesday, February 3, 2015

**Present**: Polly Allred, Ambrose Anoruo, Bart Ballard, Valerie Bartelt, Daniel Burt, Ruth Chatelain-Jordon, Farzad Deyhim, Stan Hodges, Kendra Huff, Elizabeth Janzen, Lorraine Killion, Kuo-Jen Liao, Todd Lucas, Gerri Maxwell, Lisa McNair, Joseph Sai, Marie de Jesus Ayala-Schueneman, Nestor Sherman, Jacki Thomas, George Vargas, Amit Verma, Fulden Wissinger, & Monica Wong-Ratcliff

Absent: Ian Aebel (3), Apu Bhattacharya (8), Jody Briones (2), Edward Butterworth (1), John Chisholm (4), Oscar Diaz (6), Yousri Elkassabgi (4), Tim Fullbright (10), James Glusing (3), Rajan Lamichhane (1), Brenda Melendy (5), Patricia Polastri (7), Randy Powell (7), Nestor Rodriguez (5), & Rongdong Wang (8)

Remark: Senators Cathy Downs and Emily Ralph have resigned.

### I. Call to Order

a. Quorum Call 3:50 pm Quorum Present

### **II.** Approval of Minutes, December Meeting

a. Senator Joseph Sai moved to approve the minutes. Senator Stan Hodges seconded. The motion was approved by voice vote.

### **III.** Presentations

- a. Dr. Duane Gardiner, Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs
  - i. Dr. Gardiner thanked the senators for making the Faculty Senate very productive.
  - ii. The Ph.D. in Engineering has been approved. Financially speaking, it is good for TAMUK because of the formula of funding.
- iii. SRI 80% of the students completed the SRI before the final exams. 20% of the students completed the SRI during or after their exams. The SRI Review Committee has been working on the survey questions and a report will be completed very soon.
- iv. Faculty Leave Request TAMUK will require a Faculty Leave Request be submitted at least one week prior to the leave for such cases so that the responsibility for meeting classes can be transferred to an appropriate faculty replacement. If the Senate approves the Faculty Leave Request, it will be used by the end of Spring 2015.
- v. SACS The SACS site team will visit TAMUK from March 3 to March 5 to investigate the 14 non-compliant areas. As for the QEP, TAMUK has the new Undergraduate Writing Center. Dr. Sunny Hawkins is the new director.

- vi. General Education Curriculum An ad hoc review committee has been formed to review the general education curriculum. Senator Todd Lucas gave an update. He stated that two additional courses had been added to the core. Dr. Gardiner will send an e-mail to the Senate regarding the updates.
- vii. PricewaterhouseCooper (PWHC) Report TAMUK has been waiting for the report, which was supposed to be due 6 weeks ago.

## **IV. Report of Officers**

- a. President Vargas said that when he met with President Tallant and Provost Gandy, they discussed about the SRI, SACS reports, and PWHC Report.
- b. Astra schedules there are requests which cannot be accommodated. Provost Gandy will look into the issues.
- c. Staff teaching part time a memo was written requesting a response from Leon Bazar, the Director of Human Resources, and President Tallant.
- d. Ad-Hoc Committee for Annual Faculty Evaluation Instrument
  - i. Dr. Gardiner is the chair. There are 8 faculty members serving on the committee: Drs. Steve Bain, Thomas Fields, Larry Peel, Melody Knight, Richard Miller, Patricia Polastri, Shad Nelson, and Fidel Hernandez. Drs. Steve Bain and Richard Miller are department chairs. The committee is to review the process and forms of the annual faculty evaluation and make recommendations to the administrators.
  - ii. A separate senate committee has been formed to review the recommendations of the Ad Hoc Committee. Senators Elizabeth Janzen, Stan Hodges, and Rajan Lamichhane are the members. Vice-President Verma will oversee the process.
  - iii. Vice-President Verma made a motion: The results from the Ad Hoc Committee should be brought to the Senate for approval before they are sent to Provost Gandy. Senator Jacki Thomas seconded. The motion was approved by voice vote.

### V. New Business

- a. Annual Faculty Lecture Series committee
- i. The former award recipients of the Annual Faculty Lecture Series are serving on the committee: Drs. Apurba Bhattacharya, Anders Greenspan, and Stephen Oller. The last year's winner, Dr. Michelle Garcia, is the chair.
- ii. President Vargas asked the Senate to nominate a couple of faculty members from each college.
- iii. The nominees are: Mike Tewes from the College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences; Nirmal Goswami & Joseph Jones from College of Arts & Sciences; Kim Jones & Reza Nekovei from the College of Engineering; Tom Krueger & John Cicala

from the College of Business Administration, and LaVonne Fedynich from the College of Education and Human Performance.

## b. Election

- i. Senator Lorraine Killion is in-charge of the election.
- c. Annual Administrator Evaluation by Faculty
  - i. In Spring 2013, the proposal was approved by Faculty Senate to administer the evaluation every Fall semester. There was a discussion to move the evaluation to Spring instead of Fall.
  - Senator Todd Lucas made a motion to move the Evaluation to every Spring semester, starting Spring 2015. Senator Bart Ballard seconded. The motion was approved by voice vote.
- d. Senator Elizabeth Janzen Recreation Center
  - i. Senator Janzen proposed a reduction in faculty fee for the usage of Recreation Center.
  - ii. There was a discussion, but the Senate did not make a motion to support the proposal.
- iii. President Vargas suggested Senator Janzen contact Leon Bazar, the Director of Human Resources, for support of her proposal to reduce faculty and staff fee. Mr. Bazar has formed a committee called Javelinas' Fitness to encourage faculty and staff to stay healthy.

# VI. Adjournment (4:45 pm)

Next meeting: Tuesday, March 3, 2015