Texas A&M University-Kingsville Faculty Senate Minutes April 2, 2013

Present: Aden Ahmed, Saj Bashir, Edward Butterworth, Rajab Challoo, John Cicala, Mark Cortez, David Cutton, Mike Daniel, Don Fisher, Karen Furgerson, Jeff Glick, Norma Guzman, Don Jones, Lorraine Killion, Alvaro Martinez, Leonel Medellin, Michael Muzheve, Kathleen Rees, Greg Sanders, Hans Schumann, Greta Schuster, Nestor Sherman, Harmeet Singh, Roberto Vela Cordova, Amit Verma, Colin Wark, Zak Watson, Kenneth Williams, Randall Williams

- I. Call to Order
 - a. Quorum Call Quorum Present
- II. Approval of minutes, March meeting—approved by consensus

III. Presentations

a. Provost Gandy

1. The state budget looks good. The request for the music building addition has made it out of the Texas Senate. Raises for faculty look likely.

2. The university earned three awards for this year's State Employee Charitable Contribution campaign.

3. Business dean candidates will be on campus soon.

IV. Report of Officers

a. Senate President Mike Daniel

Reviewing the year, President Daniel reported that the President Tallant and Provost Gandy have been responsive to concerns raised by the Faculty Senate, except for two issues: the need to support established faculty members, particularly full professors, in light of the support offered to new faculty and the need to revisit the five class load for lecturers, both of which have been Faculty Senate concerns since last spring.

V. Old Business

a. Progress report - Administrator Evaluation Committee - Amit Verma

The language of the proposal concerning the distribution of the results of the administrator evaluations needs revisiting.

b. Progress report - Elections Committee - Amit Verma

The vote count for the College of Engineering At Large Senator is to be held 8 April. A&S needs to vote for At Large Senator. Next semester the College of Business will need to elect two more senators.

c. Progress report - SRI Task Force Committee - Harmeet Singh (chair)

Motion:

- 1. That the student comment section should not be included in the faculty evaluation process through the current SRI survey administration because of following concerns:
 - a) The current SRI survey is not administered as it was designed to by the erstwhile Senate committee in 1999.
 - b) The current SRI is not administered uniformly across the campus. For instance, some colleges and departments within colleges have student surveys in addition to the SRI implemented online.
 - c) The current format of SRI survey tends to lead student comments towards being misdirected and vague. For instance, students may use the comment section to rate instructor instead of instruction and SRI survey is not originally designed to rate instructor.

- 2. That the SRI Task Force Committee is in favor of revisiting student comment section from SRI in the faculty evaluation process in future with *a newly developed senate-approved SRI survey* that may have 'instruction' related open-ended questions and also the validity tests necessary to utilize those comments.
- 3. That the student body at TAMUK be informed with the purpose of current SRI surveys as well as the formal complaints and grievances process.

This motion passed by show of hands 22 to 4.

Motion:

 That the SRI survey currently administered should be reverted to the original survey questionnaire developed by Senate Committee S-12 and passed by Senate Resolution on September 14, 1999 with the exception of two questions: #17 and #18 as these questions do not fit the online implementation of the survey. And that the OIR strictly adheres to the administration process as prescribed in the 1999 original document as it is necessary for statistical validity and reliability of results.

During discussion of this motion, several senators expressed concerns about the "catch" questions on the SRI instrument. There were proposals to drop them or pair them. Neither of those amendments passed. The motion passed as written by show of hands 25 to 0.

VI. New Business

- a. Change of Senate Seating of newly elected senators and President
- b. Elections Quorum Call Quorum Present
- c. 2013-14 Faculty Senate Officers and Executive Committee Members General Election (by <u>Secret</u> <u>Ballot</u>)
 - President: Rajab Challoo President-Elect: George Vargas Secretary: Zak D. Watson Parliamentarian: Jeffrey Glick Executive Committee: College of Agriculture... - Randall Williams College of Arts and Sciences... - Nirmal Goswami College of Business... - Hans O Schumann College of Education... - Gerri M Maxwell College of Engineering... - Amit Verma

VII. Announcements

Watch for updates and other changes to the Faculty Senate website.

VIII. Adjournment: 4:32 p.m.

Next meeting: Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Minutes recorded and submitted by: Zak D. Watson