## **2022 Olan Kruse Science Faculty Award**

The Olan Kruse Science Faculty Award is given for excellence in teaching and/or research to a faculty member in one of the college's science departments:

- Biological & Health Sciences
- Chemistry
- Physics & Geosciences

One award will be issued. A college awards committee will determine the recipient. The awards will be presented at an all-university event and includes an honorarium.

**Eligibility:** To be eligible to receive this award, a faculty member must be nominated, and must be a full-time tenured or tenure-track member in one of the above-named departments. The recipient's workload must include at least one-half teaching. The research for which the award is given may be a single outstanding contribution to the basic knowledge of a discipline, or it may be for an accumulation of original research in the discipline. Excellence in teaching shall be judged on work in the classroom or instructional laboratory.

**Nominators:** Department Chairs or Faculty Members who are nominating an individual are asked to submit a letter of nomination outlining specific rationale for the nomination.

**Nominees:** Individuals who are nominated are asked to submit the following:

- Current CV
- One-page personal narrative and any supporting material that will include the following:
  - 1. List of courses taught at TAMUK
  - 2. List of courses and/or laboratories developed at TAMUK
  - 3. List of professional publications
  - 4. List of papers read at professional society meetings
  - 5. Grants received while at TAMUK
- No more than five letters supporting the nomination (two which must be from former students of the nominee)

All nominations are due to the Office of the Dean by March 1, 2022.