Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Wildlife Society Receives National Chapter of the Year Award

KINGSVILLE - October 15, 2010

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361.593.2590

wildlife 2010 web.JPG

The Student Chapter of The Wildlife Society at Texas A&M University-Kingsville has been chosen as the 2010 Student Chapter of the Year at the national level. The award presentation was made at the 17th Annual Conference of The Wildlife Society in Snowbird, Utah.

This is the fourth time in the history of the award that the Texas A&M-Kingsville chapter has won this national distinction, said Dr. Scott Henke, Regents Professor and chair of the animal and wildlife sciences department and faculty advisor of the chapter. “With four awards we are now tied with University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point for the most wins.

“The Student Chapter of the Year award is the highest honor that can be bestowed onto a university with a wildlife program. The award acknowledges the hard work, dedication to wildlife and conservation and professionalism of the students who constitute the wildlife program at Texas A&M-Kingsville,” he said.
The A&M-Kingsville chapter previously won the awards in 1998, 2001 and 2005.

Marcus Blum, a senior from Cadwell, is the current president of The Wildlife Society. He also was an officer for the year the award was given. Other officers from the time of the award included Ashleigh Green, a graduate from Troup; Justin Rattan, a senior from Midlothian; and Thomas Janke, a senior from Bartlett. All are range and wildlife science majors.

In addition, the university’s chapter of The Wildlife Society at A&M-Kingsville has won the state Student Chapter of the Year award six times.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: July 16, 2014