Texas A&M University-Kingsville

President's Legacy Ball Date Set, Committee Named

KINGSVILLE - March 06, 2009

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361.593.2590


Texas A&M-Kingsville uses President’s Legacy Ball as way to honor friends of university

The committee of the President’s Legacy Ball, held annually at Texas A&M University-Kingsville, has announced the date for this year’s event. The 2009 event will be Saturday, April 4, in the Grand Ballrooms of the Memorial Student Union Building.

The President’s Legacy Ball is hosted annually by the university’s President and First Lady. This is the first ball for A&M-Kingsville’s new president, Dr. Steven Tallant and his wife, Karen.

The art for this year’s legacy ball was provided by local artist Dolores Price. Her piece, a watercolor entitled The Beauty of Iris, graces the invitations and other printed materials. In addition, a box of 12 note cards featuring this year’s art will be available for sale at the ball.

This year’s ball will begin at 6:30 p.m. with dinner served at 7:30 p.m. A silent auction will be held from 6:30 to 9 p.m. and dancing will begin at 8 p.m. and continue until midnight. Individual tickets are $125. For ticket information, call 361-593-4191.

The First Lady, Karen Tallant, chairs the committee. The planning committee is composed of members of Kingsville community as well as faculty and staff from the university.

The remainder of the committee includes Evelyn Alexander, Judy Allen, Glenda Best, Cheryl Cain, Maria Crowley, Ricki Cunningham, Mary Cusack, Patricia Cypher, Paige deVaudrecourt, Jane Dodds, Heather Elsik, Rosie Escobar, Vangie Flores, Darlynn Fugate, Margie Galvan, Dr. Maria Estela Garcia, Raquel Garcia, Aurora Garza, Claudia Harrel, George Henkel, Goldia Hubert, Belinda Hughes, Marchia Hutchison, Carol Jones, Steve Kauf, Selina Kieschnick, Albert Lewis, Sandra Messbarger, Julie Navejar, Joan Nuesch, Dolores Price, Dr. Grace Ruiz, Lori Russek, Rachel Santiago, Dr. Graciela N. Salazar, Darlene Scott, Fran Sharpe, Jean Claire Turcotte, Peggy Westbrook, Sylvia Woelfel, Charis Yaklin, Lynn Yaklin and Jay Zambrano.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012