Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M-Kingsville Schedules Winter Commencement Dec. 13

KINGSVILLE - December 02, 2008

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

Nearly 600 graduates are ready to cross the stage to receive their degrees during two commencement ceremonies to be held at the Steinke Physical Education Center at Texas A&M University-Kingsville Saturday, Dec. 13.

At the 11 a.m. ceremony, graduates from the Dick and Mary Lewis Kleberg College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences and the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering will receive their degrees. At the 2:30 p.m. ceremony, graduates from the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business Administration and Education and University College will cross the stage.

Students receiving their master’s and doctoral degrees will be recognized within their academic colleges.

During the commencement ceremony, Gabriel Geyne, Student Government Association president, will present the Distinguished Student Awards. Marisa Chapa, president of the Javelina Alumni Association, will present a university ring to one deserving graduate. Vergel Gay Jr., associate vice chancellor of facilities, planning and construction for The Texas A&M University System, will bring greetings.

Col. Raul Ramirez of the A&M-Kingsville ROTC will commission one cadet. Jorge A. Fuentes will be commissioned as second lieutenant in the United States Army.

The keynote speaker for both ceremonies will be Jean Claire Turcotte, university alumna from the classes of 1958 and 1986. She was recently named a Distinguished Alumna. Turcotte retired as principal of St. Gertrude Catholic School in Kingsville in 2003. She had served as the school’s principal since 1981 and had taught at the school for five years before being selected as principal.

Her service to the community and her alma mater is extensive and includes the Christus Spohn Kleberg Hospital Advisory Board, the Robert J. Kleberg County Library Board, the Coastal Bend Community Foundation, the Woman’s Club of Kingsville and the Kingsville Community Choir. She serves as accreditation chair of the Texas Catholic Conference Educational Department and is a past chair of the Bishop’s Guild of the Diocese of Corpus Christi.

In support of the university, she is a member of the President’s Circle, the President’s Legacy Ball Steering Committee and the John E. Conner Museum Board. She is a member of the Texas A&M University-Kingsville Foundation Board of Trustees and a past member of the Javelina Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012