Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Students, Faculty, Alumni Recognized At Annual Banquet

KINGSVILLE - April 29, 2008

Contact: Julie Navejar
julie.navejar@tamuk.edu or 361-593-2590

College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences honor their own

Students, faculty and alumni in the College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences at Texas A&M University-Kingsville received awards at the annual spring banquet held Friday, April 18.

This year’s Hall of Fame recipient is Dr. Mohammed Koohmaraie, who recently was named chief executive officer of the IEH Laboratories and Consulting Group in Seattle. The group combines consulting with accredited testing laboratories for its partners in the food industry. IEH employs 320 staff members including 52 doctoral level scientists and operates 31 labs in 16 states. Previously, he was director of the United States Meat Animal Research Center.

Koohmaraie is an alumnus who earned his master’s degree from Texas A&I University. He earned his bachelor’s degree in animal science from Pahlavi University in Iran and his doctorate in animal science from Oregon State University.

He has received numerous national awards including Agricultural Research Service Scientist of the Year in 1992 and 2001, USDA Secretary Award in 1995 and 2001 and the Research Awards from the American Meat Science Association and the American Society of Animal Science.

Doug Smith Jr., university photographer/videographer, was given the Outstanding Friend of the College Award. The Hoggie Horticulture Society was named Outstanding Student Club and won first place in the barbecue cook off.

The Senior Teaching Award went to Dr. Duane Gardiner, professor of agronomy and resource sciences, while Dr. Michelle Garcia, assistant professor in animal and wildlife sciences, received the Junior Teaching Award.

Dr. Eliezer Louzada, associate professor at the Citrus Center, received the Senior Research Award and Dr. Randall DeYoung, assistant professor and research scientist, received the Junior Research Award.

The Advising Award went to Jerome Tymrak, lecturer in agronomy and resource science. Teresa Gonzales, assistant to the director at the Citrus Center, was given the Staff Excellence Award. The Dean’s Special Recognition Award went to Belinda Hughes, assistant to the dean of
the College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences.

Student awards winners include:

Agronomy and Resource Sciences

Outstanding Student in Agriculture Science – Randolph Haas, a senior from Yorktown
Outstanding Student in Agriculture Science with Teaching Certification – Alonzo Garza, a senior from Donna
Outstanding Student in Plant and Soil Science – Eli Borrego, a senior from Mission
Outstanding Graduate Student in Agriculture Science – Elizabeth Magel, a master’s student from Yorktown
Outstanding Graduate Student from the Citrus Center – Adrian Sanchez, a master’s student from Matamoras, Mexico

Animal Science and Wildlife Sciences

Outstanding Student in Animal Science – David Flores, a senior from Kingsville
Outstanding Student in Wildlife Science – Ashleigh Green, a senior from Troup
Outstanding Graduate Student in Animal Science – Elizabeth Aguirre, a master’s student from McKinney
Outstanding Graduate Student in Wildlife Science – Eric Grahmann, a master’s student from Victoria
Outstanding Doctoral Student in Wildlife Science – Erin Wehland, a doctoral student from Fairmont, Nebraska

Human Sciences

Outstanding Student in Family and Consumer Sciences – Celeste Grimes, a senior from Orange Grove
Outstanding Student in Fashion and Interiors Merchandising – Anali Ortega, a junior from Gonzalez, Tamaulipas, Mexico
Outstanding Student in Human Development and Family Studies – Leslie Petros, a senior from Corpus Christi
Outstanding Student in Human Nutrition – Sara Freed, a junior from Ingleside
Outstanding Graduate Student in Human Sciences – Kathryn Santos, a master’s student from Uvalde

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012