Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Texas A&M University System Chancellor to host open forums on presidential search at Texas A&M-Kingsville

KINGSVILLE - February 15, 2008

Contact: Amy Halbert
syscomm@tamu.edu or (979) 458-6023

Texas A&M University System Chancellor Dr. Michael D. McKinney will hold public forums on the Texas A&M University-Kingsville campus to solicit input from the university community about the selection of the next president of the university.

Current president Rumaldo Juárez announced Feb. 13 that he was resigning the presidency to assume the newly created position of associate vice president for research and graduate studies, effective June 30. Juárez has served as president since August 2002.

A forum for faculty and staff will be held from 8 to 9 a.m., Tuesday, Feb. 19, in Ballroom A of the Memorial Student Union Building. An open forum for the public also will be held from 4 to 5:30 p.m., Monday, Feb. 18, also in Ballroom A.

“We want the selection process to include the local community from day one,” said McKinney. “My goal is to help the regents find the right individual to build a strong partnership with the Kingsville community and to take the university to a new level of academic excellence.”

While in Kingsville, McKinney also will meet with the university’s student leaders, the Faculty Senate, the Staff Council, the Academic Deans Council and the President’s Council to discuss the qualities needed in the next president of Texas A&M -Kingsville.

The chancellor also will be looking for potential candidates to serve on the presidential search advisory committee. This will be a diverse group of students, faculty, staff and public leaders who bring their own perspectives on the presidency and share a commitment to the university.

The A&M System Board of Regents will consider the advice of the committee and of the chancellor in making their selection for the next president of Texas A&M-Kingsville.

Go back | Archives Home | Return to University Home
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source

This page was last updated on: October 30, 2012